Anginetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Not what my Italian great grandmother used to make, but still pretty darned good. I used a cookie press so they sticky dough was easy to work with and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwinS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennebunk, Maine, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly except for the butter... here's the secret to making them soft... use crisco instead of butter.. it makes so much of a difference! everyone gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Great Recipe! Very similar to what you would find in a bakery. My only suggestion would be to put the dough in a ziploc bag and snip off the tip (instead of using a pastry bag).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These cookies are delicious! What worked for me was to chill the dough and then roll it out and cut with a 3" cookie cutter. I made Christmas trees for the holidays. I found they only needed to bake for about 8 minutes. The recipe made 4 dozen. I cut the glaze recipe down to a third and it was just the right amount. I added lemon zest to the glaze. These cookies look and taste very impressive, just like a bakery cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
Cookies tasted really good, yet took a lottle extra effort to make than your average cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
These cookies were wonderful and tasted just like the ones my grandmother used to make. Her recipe called for lemon extract so I added a little to the dough. I also used a cookie press which made dealing with this very sticky dough easy. I would also only cook until the bottom edges just begin to brown. Great recipe - Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Love this recipe. I did add lemon zest to the icing to make it a bit more lemony. My one mistake was I made the cookies a bit on the small side. Next time I'll make them bigger just like you see in the Italian bakeries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I have made this cookie 3 times and the following changes really made it have more taste. 1/2 cup butter, instead of 6 tbl. I also used only 1 tsp of vanilla. plus a tablespoon of milk. Dough is very sticky so I just used a spoon to make the cookie. I only baked for 16 minutes, 20 is too long and cookies come out crispy. unless that is what you want. Icing. 1 tbl butter, 1 cup confection sugar, 2 tble milk, 1/2 tsp vanilla. Dip the COOLED cookie into the icing as one reader suggested. If you do it when the cookie is warm it just runs off. These are good and they are something different to add to a cookie plate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2000
These little gems were soo quick tomake, they were done in between making a pizza and cooking spaghetti marinara with minimal time and mess. I didnt have a bakers piping bag however I made the cookies as little logs and they were just delicious. Better than any you can buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
The first reviewer is right: a cookie press makes the gooey dough simple to handle and the cookies don't need 20 minutes to bake. These are very Italian cookies, not overly sweet, with a subtle eggy flavor set off by the tart lemon icing. The outside is sturdy and the inside tender and rather dry. The frosting dries like a fondant - hard, glossy and stackable. This cookie will appeal to adults more than to children. It's great with coffee and better the second day than it is fresh. These will ship well. The recipe as printed makes plenty of extra frosting, possibly enough for a second batch of cookies. Next time I'll use more lemon juice and less water in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States