Angie's To-Die-For Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Awesome banana bread, and yes this recipe is "To-Die-For"! I know that may seem a bit overly dramatic, but this stuff is really good. I've made a lot of banana breads on this site and this is one of the better recipes. I cut the recipe in half as I only needed one bread but I wish I'd made two! I used butter-flavored shortening, added a little more banana, and used low-fat buttermilk and sour cream. I did add a bit of cinnamon and next time I think I might add in some walnuts or chocolate chips - and believe me there will definitely be a next time! This bread was very moist (ya just gotta love baking with buttermilk), rich and delicious. Oh so good warm out of the oven with a bit of butter. Thanks for a great recipe AMHORSCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
To die for......yes, ma'am! I made this today with my older boy only substituting whole wheat white flour for the regular flour and cutting the white sugar back to a scant 1/2 cup. I made 12 large-ish muffins for us as snacks and three "gift" loaves for friends (random acts of kindness!). This banana bread is one of the best we've ever had. Really, REALLY to die for! I hate to make it lighter because it's really freaking yummy but next time, I might cut the butter and oil back by half and add more mashed banana. NOTE: To prevent a tough banana bread, I always wisk together all my dry ingredients (including sugar) and all my wet ingredients and then fold the dry into the wet until just moistened making sure not to overmix. You get perfect quick bread/muffins every time. EDITED: I've now made this recipe twice and not only does my family love it, but so do the six people we've made gift loaves for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Sherrie have you ever heard the saying " if you can't say something nice don't say anything at all" you may want to consider this as many of us here appreciate any and all advise from other here. Barb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Wow...thanks so much for this. And, BTW, my daughter is a very new cook and really appreciated the review explaining to add separated dry ingredients to wet and mix just till moistened. It is NOT always obvious to the newer cook and such information is very worthwhile. You never know who gains a lifetime trick from such helpful hints. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I just got this bread out of the oven and had to try it right away. It's almost too hot to eat but it's absolutely delicious. It's very light, moist and has a wonderful banana flavor. I followed the recipe to a T except I did add some cinnamon. I've tried lots of banana bread recipes but this one is my favorite by far. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Thanks for the reviews everyone. Im glad most everyone loves it like we do. As far as the way I wrote the instructions about mixing was simply to help those who dont bake often. Im making 2 loaves in the morning and cant wait. Bake on and pass this recipe on to your friends - theyll thank you for it!!! Angie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMHORSCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayling, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Yes, it is a great recipe. Thank you! I also added some cinamon and nutmeg. I used 3/4 cup buttermilk and 1/4 cup rum and it was so delicious my husband said he fell in love all over again! BTW as a general rule of thumb you do mix the dry together before adding the wet, but in certain circumstances (such as when using bananas) it does work better as shown in the recipe. Thanks again, and keep em coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I have tried this but mine is much better. I add cinnamon, nutmeg and raisins soaked in rum/wine mix and spoon some of this into my cake mixture.....this gives it added depth in flavour and so I have people constantly asking me to make more. BTW...thought it is obvious that one would mix dry ingredients BEFORE adding it to the wet...and not a state secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I was a little nervous about being the first to make muffins with this recipe, but I don't have a loaf pan, so I did! 18 minutes in a pan prepped with cooking spray was perfect. I sprinkled them with rolled oats. To-Die-For indeed! The recipe will make about 36 muffins. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Very moist banana bread. I had a little buttermilk and 4 bananas to use up and this recipe was perfect. For nut lovers - you can easily add nuts without changing anything else. When I make this again - and there will be a next time - I am going to sub applesauce for the shortening and try doing one of the loaves as muffins. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States