Angie's Polenta Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I put my homemade sauce in the bottom (enough to cover the bottom of the dish), layer in the polenta, then a spoonful of ricotta on each piece then beef - skip the cottage cheese, cover with additional spoonfuls of sauce on the polenta slices and some mozz & parm cheese (whatever I have on hand) and bake until hot, bubbly and cheese is a little brown. I don't make it too saucy and can adjust it to just two of us or all 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I used a can of diced tomatoes but should have drained a little of the juice. I also used ricotta cheese. I added mushrooms and spinach. The thing that made it was the use of fresh spices. Hubby really liked it and I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
It was good. I actually layered it like a Lasagna and the polenta was a little soft. I would follow the recipe a little better next time. It was still amazing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This didn't go together at all for me, I ended up pulling off the huge layer of mozarella cheese and then eating it. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I'm not a polenta lover but my husband is and he raved about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by virgi
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I layered everything in a small baking dish, with lotsa sauce, and no beef. The result looked more like a soup, but it tasted like lasagna, and it was great. Easy, perfect for lazy days. Sprinkled feta, cheddar, parmesan and breadcrumbs on top. Cooked almost 1 hour at 350F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
YUM! I sauteed the ground beef with fresh garlic, skipped the tomato sauce, and added fresh herbs and mushrooms to the pasta sauce. I couldn't find cottage cheese with chives so I added some fresh chives, basil, and parsley to the cottage cheese (yummy). I used the Polenta recipe from this site to make my own at home. So good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I prefer the taste of beef but for health reasons, I use lean ground turkey for all dishes that require ground beef. It's delicious, regardless. I used Classico brand four cheese pasta sauce, which I love when I can't make my own. However, I could not find cottage cheese with chives ANYWHERE! I looked, looked, looked... So, I had some ricotta in the refrigerator and just went ahead and used that. I also sprinkled some parmesan on top. I had some spinach occupying space in my refrigerator so I threw that in there too. Yes, I changed it up a bit but like the author said, this recipe "can be a start for so many variations". That's definitely true. Make it your own. It is a great base recipe and I loved the change of pace when it comes to texture on an italian dish. I pour some sauce in the middle of a serving plate and placed the polenta on top, made it look pretty and served it with a side dish of steamed broccoli. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Polenta Lasagna

See how to make delicious pesto and polenta lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States