Angie's Perfect Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
pretty decent recipe. as other ratings stated, the recipe needs more flour (at least when adjusting to a smaller portion). It needed quite a bit more actually.. I made 15 servings and had to add upwards to a 1/2c more. I let them rise pretty good, but they still weren't as fluffy as I would have liked.. a little dense. All in all, I liked these, but I'm still looking for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sxysx_1219
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! I am not an expert with yeast, and don't make bread often. I followed the directions and it yielded perfectly fluffy dinner rolls! The recipe does make a ton, but these are good for sandwiches the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I had to make this a couple of times. The first time my dough didn't rise. Don't make my mistake - the milk should be LUKEWARM not CLOSE-TO-HOT-WARM. I basically killed the yeast the first time by having my milk be too warm. Also, like many others, I had to add an extra cup of flour. Finally, when the dough DID rise, I brushed the tops of the rolls with an egg wash before putting them in the oven. Made the tops extra shiny. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I tried to reduce the size recipe but ended up with making the original recipe. This was my first effort in making dinner rolls. I did use more flour like everyone else has said. I used vegetable oil to roll the dough into a ball shape like a friend showed me. I ended up with 32 rolls. I think I should have waited longer to let them raised the fourth time. Other than dropping my oil bottle on the counter, I feel this was really easy. When I make them again I will only use a square baking dish like a 8x8 for uniform shape and over all baking. My boyfriend said they were good. My parents brought me back the container I put on their kitchen table two days later and said they want a batch every week, and said they are good for sandwiches too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suraider2001
Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Made these with a few substitutions, since my son is dairy free. Used soymilk and margarine with good results. The second time I made them I took each portion of dough and wrapped it around a few pieces of chopped pepperoni and a small chunk of mozzarella cheese. When they came out of the oven, I brushed them with garlic margarine and then sprinkled them with sea salt. They were a BIG HIT!!!! My kids loved them, as did my hubby and I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
For all the people saying they needed more flour I have to disagree. This is the right amount, if you want light fluffy rolls. If not don't go overboard on extra flour, also I recommend kneading for a while, you'll get a sticky dough but as soon as it rises it will be the perfect consistency. I made pizza rolls out of this that were to die for, not too tangy, not to sweet, fluffy, beautiful...I made a batch that should have lasted a week, but instead lasted a day and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I have found my lifelong dinner roll recipe! These are amazing. Be careful to look at how many one batch makes--- I did not and they came rising out of my bread machine! These also freeze very well before the second rise to make another day or share with a friend :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Like other reviewers, I combined the ingredients in a different order. I put the milk, butter, sugar and salt in a saucepan and heated to approximately 120 degrees, poured the mixture in my KitchenAid bowl, sprinkled the yeast over the top and waited five minute or so. Then I beat in the eggs, one at a time and beat in three cups of the flour. I transferred this to a large bowl and stirred in the remaining flour plus at least another cup. The dough is very sticky! This is practically a no-fail recipe. I was doing too many things at once the last time I made these and dumped a teaspoon of the yeast in with the milk mixture while it was heating No problem. I added the rest of the yeast as noted above and the rolls were fine. I have baked these rolls in 8 and 9 inch cake pans, depending on the size I want. Do let them rise as directed in the recipe. These are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
The smell of this dough brought me back to thanksgiving as a kid. I halved the recipe and used bread flour, they came out great. Love that you don't need to knead or roll out dough. Keeping it in the bowl cuts down on cleanup. Definitely need to use1/2 to 1 c more flour as others have put. The only tip I have is to not try to make these pull away biscuits, they came out a little underdone in the center when I did that. Place 1/2 inch apart on sheet to let cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I felt that these rolls did not live up to the hype. They were 'alright', but most certainly Not 'Perfect'. I didn't like the texture, and something was off with the taste. I did enjoy Whoomping them 4 times :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States