Angie's Perfect Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I tried to reduce the size recipe but ended up with making the original recipe. This was my first effort in making dinner rolls. I did use more flour like everyone else has said. I used vegetable oil to roll the dough into a ball shape like a friend showed me. I ended up with 32 rolls. I think I should have waited longer to let them raised the fourth time. Other than dropping my oil bottle on the counter, I feel this was really easy. When I make them again I will only use a square baking dish like a 8x8 for uniform shape and over all baking. My boyfriend said they were good. My parents brought me back the container I put on their kitchen table two days later and said they want a batch every week, and said they are good for sandwiches too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suraider2001
Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Made these with a few substitutions, since my son is dairy free. Used soymilk and margarine with good results. The second time I made them I took each portion of dough and wrapped it around a few pieces of chopped pepperoni and a small chunk of mozzarella cheese. When they came out of the oven, I brushed them with garlic margarine and then sprinkled them with sea salt. They were a BIG HIT!!!! My kids loved them, as did my hubby and I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
For all the people saying they needed more flour I have to disagree. This is the right amount, if you want light fluffy rolls. If not don't go overboard on extra flour, also I recommend kneading for a while, you'll get a sticky dough but as soon as it rises it will be the perfect consistency. I made pizza rolls out of this that were to die for, not too tangy, not to sweet, fluffy, beautiful...I made a batch that should have lasted a week, but instead lasted a day and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I have found my lifelong dinner roll recipe! These are amazing. Be careful to look at how many one batch makes--- I did not and they came rising out of my bread machine! These also freeze very well before the second rise to make another day or share with a friend :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Like other reviewers, I combined the ingredients in a different order. I put the milk, butter, sugar and salt in a saucepan and heated to approximately 120 degrees, poured the mixture in my KitchenAid bowl, sprinkled the yeast over the top and waited five minute or so. Then I beat in the eggs, one at a time and beat in three cups of the flour. I transferred this to a large bowl and stirred in the remaining flour plus at least another cup. The dough is very sticky! This is practically a no-fail recipe. I was doing too many things at once the last time I made these and dumped a teaspoon of the yeast in with the milk mixture while it was heating No problem. I added the rest of the yeast as noted above and the rolls were fine. I have baked these rolls in 8 and 9 inch cake pans, depending on the size I want. Do let them rise as directed in the recipe. These are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
The smell of this dough brought me back to thanksgiving as a kid. I halved the recipe and used bread flour, they came out great. Love that you don't need to knead or roll out dough. Keeping it in the bowl cuts down on cleanup. Definitely need to use1/2 to 1 c more flour as others have put. The only tip I have is to not try to make these pull away biscuits, they came out a little underdone in the center when I did that. Place 1/2 inch apart on sheet to let cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I felt that these rolls did not live up to the hype. They were 'alright', but most certainly Not 'Perfect'. I didn't like the texture, and something was off with the taste. I did enjoy Whoomping them 4 times :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I can't really add anything to the positive reviews but I had to at least say YES these are great. Like someone else I too only made 1/2 the recipe and got 8 huge buns. I am going to try freezing some after the 2nd rising and see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Limoges, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Let me tell you something, when i say these are good i mean they are GOOD! These are the only rolls i make, i have tried different recipes but i always run back to these. I have made these rolls so many times that i can make it in my bread maker with my eyes closed. I know the recipe likes its on the back of my hand! Angie's Dinner Rolls are usually gone within a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These were great! I halved the recipe and ended up with 11 huge rolls. I used 2+ cups of white whole wheat flour and 2+ c all-purpose. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States