Angie's Perfect Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
These are fantastic. I read reviews to see how other people handled the recipe and I love all the helpful hints. If it helps, here's my experience: I halved the recipe (4 cups of flour and 2ts salt) and used 1% milk because that's all I had on hand. After reading the reviews, I cut the heat to 375 and baked for 25 min. I used a glass 9" cake round and an 8X8 glass baking dish sprayed with PAM. Each dish held 9 two ounce balls. I cooked them one after the other to not crowd the oven. I also made the dough the day before letting it rise 3 times. This morning I took out the dough and let it rest for an hour before portioning. I let the balls rest and rise for 30 min while the oven preheated. When I took them out of the oven they were a nice golden brown and 205 degrees on the inside courtesy of my thermapen. I brushed them with some melted butter and put them on a rack to cool. After about 20 min of cooling they are soft and light, just like a good dinner roll should be. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I love these, so does my family! Could you make these a day before and freeze or put them in the fridge?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kendallville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Empi Darko
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I tried this, but the dough was soft and quite sticky. Tasted good, though. I live in a hot and humid place, so that might have something to do with it. I'll try it again with more flour or less yeast and see how it turns out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Empi Darko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This was my first time working with yeast and it was 'fast rising' yeast. Also I did not have regular milk and used Almond Milk. Because I always follow recipes to the 't' I was worried from the beginning that I screwed up. However, these rolls turned out GREAT!! Everyone LOVED them!! Can't wait to start experimenting with garlic, different cheeses and toppings, etc. If I can make these - anyone can!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
My family loves this recipe. We've been making it weekly for 2 months and it's the best. I like to mix it thoroughly the night before (no need to knead), refrigerate, then rise/bake after work. Less work, great taste, lotsa rolls. We put them in the freezer and enjoy fresh bread in our lunch sandwiches every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Last weekend I was in full blown baking mode. Having gotten a new bread maker for Christmas I have been looking for a good dinner roll recipe. I found this and thought, 'Hhmm . . .Guess I don't need the machine. Let's try this because it got such great reviews.' It turned out to be the best dinner roll recipe I have ever used. I am a trained chef and this is now my 100% go to recipe for rolls as well as bread. My step dad never really eats bread with dinner but that night, we had London Broil, baked potatoes, corn on the cob and these amazing rolls, my step dad ate 3 of these bad boys! Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
old school very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I was looking forward to enjoying these after all the great reviews. Although they came out fine, and looked like the picture, I didn't find the FLAVOR anything to write home about. They were bland, with just a touch of sweetness. I've had better rolls, and these disappointed me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I have baked this recipe twice. Once for Christmas and another time at my daughter-in-law's request. I used bread flour and they came out perfect. I did not handle them very much before rising and they baked perfectly. This recipe will be used again for a fund-raiser. My daughter-in-law's sister asked her to bake a batch for her fund raiser and I just know they will be a hit. Thanks for such delicious recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I made these rolls for dinner last night to go with pork tenderloin, applesauce, and scalloped potatoes. These rolls are so good, I found myself stuffing one in my mouth while complaining about how full I was. I can usually pass up dinner rolls, and usually just make them for my family, but after one roll I had to go back for another, and then another. I followed the recipe exactly, but put half of the dough in the refrigerator, and used the other half to make twenty rolls. I usually do not write reviews but I felt compelled to let everyone know how amazing these are! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States