Angie's Perfect Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Fantastic! I made these for Thanksgiving thinking that I would have plenty left for days. What few were left were eaten for breakfast the next morning. Following other reviewers advice I cut the milk by 1/2 cup (only used 2 cups) and cut the sugar in half (only used 1/4 cup). This is enough dough for 2 pans of rolls. Don't hesitate to brush the butter on top when they are done - it really finished them off perfectly. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA
Living In: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Great recipe! Only thing I would change is a little more sugar (I tend to like my bread a little sweeter), and bake at a lower temperature for a little longer. The inside of the bread was a little undercooked though the outside was nice and crunchy. I concur with the others who mention that it needs a little more flour as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBirman
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I was very happy that these were so easy! And, they tasted great, too. They were a little on the dense side and very yeasty in flavor. The first batch I made, I didn't make them big enough because I thought they would grow a bit more when baking, but they stay the same size. Also, I needed about an extra cup of flower. I did it all by hand. (Instead of using my KitchenAid Stand Mixer.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBirman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Tasted good, but kinda crumbly. Stephen and Emma liked them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
These are amazing! A few comments for some of the problems others have mentioned below: If you knead the dough it will get too chewy and will not rise as much. So seriously, mix just like you would a muffin batter, easy does it. Butter your hands to shape. And use that flour you were tempted to add for working into balls. Go easy on the salt. Salt enhances flavor but it also slows the yeast growth down. Too much salt will kill your yeast and result in heavy dense roles that just don't rise. No more than 4 - 5 tsp. About that flour. Use All Purpose for these, not bread flour. Too much gluten give a firm crumb. The goal here is pillowy softness. Humidity and storage time can all affect how much moisture your flour needs, not the other way around. Think of the dough like pie crust and wait until the final shaping to add additional flour. Just use a stout spoon to punch down. Again, no kneading! Big batch means more to freeze! After the final rise before shaping, scoop out as much as you want to bake right away and stash the remaining dough in the fridge. Shape and let the rolls rise. Now, Line a cookie sheet with wax paper. Shape balls of dough and position on the paper without touching and put in the freezer. If you don't have room for multiple pans, stash the remaining dough in the fridge and set up a production line. Congrats you now have rolls, the making of monkey bread, breadsticks, you name it. Store in a plastic bag or tub. Thaw, covered and shape and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Gibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shirley Morris
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
These rolls were so great for thanksgiving. the recipes really easy just takes a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
A staple in our household! I do split the batches up into two smaller dishes as others have commented that the center ones come out undercooked. My 2 year old can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made these for Thakgving dinner this year. I cut the recipe in half a I usually do just in case)..... I am now wishing I made the full recipe - these came or great! They take a long time rising but it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This recipe works out great. I wouldn't recommend someone who is new with baking bread starting with this for a dinner roll. It takes a certain kind of instinct to pull it off, but it is a great one for those who have experience. It is very versatile. I don't always do the third rise before shaping. It makes a ton of regular size rolls. Good for family gatherings. Very important to let brown on top and put butter on after pulling out of oven to make soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylewis

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I have made these for Thanksgiving for the last couple of years. My entire family (40+people) love them! They have now become a tradition and I have become the official bread maker. I also make them a couple times a year when my husband wants them "just because". Thank you for this recipe and Happy Holidays to one and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States