Angie's Perfect Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I made these rolls for dinner last night to go with pork tenderloin, applesauce, and scalloped potatoes. These rolls are so good, I found myself stuffing one in my mouth while complaining about how full I was. I can usually pass up dinner rolls, and usually just make them for my family, but after one roll I had to go back for another, and then another. I followed the recipe exactly, but put half of the dough in the refrigerator, and used the other half to make twenty rolls. I usually do not write reviews but I felt compelled to let everyone know how amazing these are! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 808mom
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This recipe was fun to make. I paired it up with New England Clam Chowder. Luckily, the weather supported the dinner genre because it was freezing (to us Hawaiians). This was a simple recipe, quite time consuming, but so worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
These are the easiest, most delicious home made rolls to make. Trust me, you'll love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Yummy rolls, although mine didn't get round at the top. It may have been my finicky oven though. I will likely make again. I didn't add more flour or knead which was difficult because they were super sticky, but they turned out light and airy. Made a third of a batch via metric system and it made 16+ (used a whole egg instead of 3/4 egg and cut back the milk a twitch to compensate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
These were good, next time I will make them way bigger and more uniform in size. They seemed a bit random, not overly pretty...they tasted fine though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deena Stone Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Fantastic! I made these for Thanksgiving thinking that I would have plenty left for days. What few were left were eaten for breakfast the next morning. Following other reviewers advice I cut the milk by 1/2 cup (only used 2 cups) and cut the sugar in half (only used 1/4 cup). This is enough dough for 2 pans of rolls. Don't hesitate to brush the butter on top when they are done - it really finished them off perfectly. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA
Living In: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Great recipe! Only thing I would change is a little more sugar (I tend to like my bread a little sweeter), and bake at a lower temperature for a little longer. The inside of the bread was a little undercooked though the outside was nice and crunchy. I concur with the others who mention that it needs a little more flour as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBirman
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I was very happy that these were so easy! And, they tasted great, too. They were a little on the dense side and very yeasty in flavor. The first batch I made, I didn't make them big enough because I thought they would grow a bit more when baking, but they stay the same size. Also, I needed about an extra cup of flower. I did it all by hand. (Instead of using my KitchenAid Stand Mixer.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBirman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Tasted good, but kinda crumbly. Stephen and Emma liked them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
These are amazing! A few comments for some of the problems others have mentioned below: If you knead the dough it will get too chewy and will not rise as much. So seriously, mix just like you would a muffin batter, easy does it. Butter your hands to shape. And use that flour you were tempted to add for working into balls. Go easy on the salt. Salt enhances flavor but it also slows the yeast growth down. Too much salt will kill your yeast and result in heavy dense roles that just don't rise. No more than 4 - 5 tsp. About that flour. Use All Purpose for these, not bread flour. Too much gluten give a firm crumb. The goal here is pillowy softness. Humidity and storage time can all affect how much moisture your flour needs, not the other way around. Think of the dough like pie crust and wait until the final shaping to add additional flour. Just use a stout spoon to punch down. Again, no kneading! Big batch means more to freeze! After the final rise before shaping, scoop out as much as you want to bake right away and stash the remaining dough in the fridge. Shape and let the rolls rise. Now, Line a cookie sheet with wax paper. Shape balls of dough and position on the paper without touching and put in the freezer. If you don't have room for multiple pans, stash the remaining dough in the fridge and set up a production line. Congrats you now have rolls, the making of monkey bread, breadsticks, you name it. Store in a plastic bag or tub. Thaw, covered and shape and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Gibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States