Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Don't make this recipe and expect it to taste good immediately. It's flavors really intensify over days and it keeps well for about 7-10 days, so do yourself a favor and make this recipe way in advance when you have some spare time. The recipe creates alot of liquidmarinade, and the liquid seems to increase over the days. Either expect to drain off alot or cut the liquid in half so that you won't have to drain any off. I've tried the recipe both ways and have not found any reduction in flavor by initially cutting the liquid in half. Also, know that if you use purple cabbage, it will soon color the other veggies even though the flavor will remain very nice. I prefer to use very little purple cabbage and alot of white cabbage, because doing so creates a multi-colored salad, instead of a totally purple one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Absolutely Awesome! I used one 16 oz Tri Blend of Cole Slaw. I halved the sugar, vinegar, mustard, oil and salt. After boiling the dressing I allowed it to cool before I poured onto the vegetable mixture. This was just the right amount of dressing. We absolutely LOVE this and my husband said that this is the best coleslaw that he has had in ages. We served this with baby back ribs and it was yummy and a great compliment. I highly recommend that you try this recipe. I am not a coleslaw fan and I can't stop eating this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
This was a very good marinated coleslaw. I halved the recipe and used a 1 lb. bag of coleslaw mix. It wasn't enough cabbage mixture. I would suggest using 2-1 lb. bags for 1/2 of the recipe. The cabbage wilts a great deal when the hot dressing is poured over it. It remained cruncy and delicious but greatly reduced in volume. I added the additional onion but skipped the celery because I didn't have any. I'm going to add poppyseeds to this recipe the next time I made it. A keeper recipe! (addendum - the second time I made this recipe I added purple cabbage for color. Big mistake, it colored all the cabbage purple. I had a very big bowl of purple slaw.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This was REALLY good. I did, however, make a number of modifications. I used less onion (about 2/3 med. onion). I used rice vinager. I like my coleslaw a tad creamy so I used about 1/4 cup mayo and 1/4 cup veg oil (this actually reduces cals/ fat from original recipe). Also, I only used about 1/4 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
I changed the vinegar to half regular vinegar and half apple cider vinegar. It took some of the "edge" off, and made it seem sweeter. It was definitely a "10" with my guests, even the finicky kids liked it. And these kids are NOT Mikey. ☺
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
This coleslaw is fabulous! It's really easy and fast to make and it tastes great. I made this recipe yesterday. I was looking for a dressing that didn't use mayo. It's a definate keeper. Thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
Excellent side dish. This is very similar to a recipe my father-in-law has been making for years. His recipe omits the carrots and dry mustard, and instead he uses a white onion and a large green pepper, diced. To make this even easier, he doesn't heat the sugar, oil and vinegar, just mixes in a bowl and pours on top of the cabbage. The extra juice can be used as a salad dressing (add some celery seed), or pour over cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Absolutely wonderful. Made it for a family cookout and everybody loved it. I took the easy way out and used coleslaw mix (2-16 oz bags) that already had the carrots in it. Update: this time I shredded everything myself and it was even better. I thought it was a piece of cake using my food processor. I also added a little bit of mustard seed to the vinegar mixture as I was a little short on the dry mustard. This will be my go to recipe when I need a slaw recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I hate coleslaw but my hubby loves it, I saw this recipe and thought this would be easy to make and boy was it. Not only that it was tasted great. I was the kid in school that told a teacher I couldn't eat it because I was "alergic" and now I can't seem to get enough of this stuff. It lasts forever and has great flavor and is so simple to make! Thanks Dot this was a lifesaver, now we can have coleslaw that we both enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Yummy! I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup and it was still wonderful. I grated the head of cabbage but next time I'll probably purchase one of the pre-shredded bags of slaw mix. Even doing it with the food processor took a long time and made a big mess. Even my husband, who doesn't go for slaw big time like I do commented that he liked it very much and went back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States