Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Great recipe! Will definately use this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
THANK YOU Dotmaytrx! Great dairy free slaw. Raw food have so many good enzymes and I detested raw cabbage & celery. This was just DELICIOUS! My biggest issue was eating raw spinach and I added some and boy! I do not taste the spinach. I bow to you specially since we just turned vegan! I had read somewhere that the raw taste of cabbage is hidden and also to help it let out excess water the chopped cabbage needs to be soaked in salt water for an hour or so. So I did try that and no raw taste! Hurray! Then I followed the recipe by reducing the oil and used olive oil, reducing sugar and used brown sugar and reducing the vinegar and swapping it with rice & apple cider vinegar. Thank you again. Can't wait to taste it after its been marinating for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I have been looking for a recipe like this for YEARS! Store I used to shop in had something very much like this recipe and then stopped selling it! Now I can make it myself! Very delicious and BETTER than what I got at store. Thanks so much for sharing your Dad's recipe! Love it Love it Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Light, refreshing summer salad. I would let the mixture sit for a day, as it was a little crispier than I'd have liked. excellent alternative to a heavy mayo-based slaw. Used a lot less sugar and subbed olive oil. Forgot all about the mustard but didn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is excellent - I made it for a July 4th bbq and it was a big hit. I am not a mayo fan so I was happy to find a vinegar-based slaw. I used 1/2 the sugar and found it definitely sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I had to deviate from the recipe just a little because I didn't have enough white vinegar on hand but I added apple cider vinegar to the mixture and it worked out great. I had tons of veggies left over from my juice fast that I did the previous week, so I added broccoli and radishes to the mixture also. The dressing is more than enough and made Alot! Very good....definitely going to make this for my next church's pot luck! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GracePCC3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This coleslaw is a nice change from the creamy type. We enjoyed the sweet and sour taste. I did not cook the dressing, but mixed it together and added to the cabbage mixture right away as other reviewer's suggested. I also took the suggestion of adding some poppy seeds and celery seed. A good summer recipe...I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Excellent NO MAYO coleslaw. Used all ingredients as written with the exception of adding about 1/4 cup of chopped red pepper. However, I did not follow the instructions regarding heating the vinegar, oil, salt, dry mustard, and pepper - I just mixed them and poured directly over the top and tossed. There will be plenty of marinade by the next day too as the cabbage will naturally loose water when combined with salt. I love easy recipes that require ingredients that I have on hand! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Made this for my girlfriend and she didn't think she would like it because she likes cole slaw chopped fine like KFC needless to say she LOVED IT... Have made it a second time. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
A great alternative to traditional coleslaw, fresh, tart and tangy. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States