Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Haven't tried this version but I have a very similar recipe. For those who can't do sugar, a lesser volume of Splenda can be substituted. My recipe calls for boiling the oil and sugar along with the dry ingredients then adding this to the vegetables. This wilts the cabbage and makes the flavors good from the start. The vegetables I use are sweet onion along with diced bell and diced red peppers .... hence the name for mine 'Stop and Go Coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I've been making this coleslaw every summer for the past few years. My family really loves it. We're not usually fans of mayo-based coleslaws so, this one was perfect. The sweet tangy taste is a great compliment to grilled meats/bbq or even in sandwiches. I've used splenda in place of the sugar before due to some diabetics in the family. It's just as good that way as well. I've also used half red cabbage before for added color but, after it sits for awhile, it turns the whole salad pink. Lol. I also followed other reviewers tips about halving the sauce ingredients. I think it's the perfect amount this way. Delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this using 1/2 apple cider vinegar and 1/2 white. I also reduced the sugar greatly since we don't like salads too sweet. It was very good and held up in the fridge for a few days. A great change from the Mayo salads. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I couldn't give this a five because I think the recipe calls for way too much liquid. I wish I had taken others' advice and cut it in half. I used a yellow onion instead of red and white wine vinegar instead of regular because that's what I had on hand. The flavors were great but I wish I didn't have to drain, therefore waste, lots of good vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This is a big hit with my family as some do not like mayo. Very tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
add some ginger (fresh or the powdered one) and yes it takes a day or so for all the ingredients to blend for a full taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Almere, Flevoland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was hands-down the best coleslaw recipe I have ever had. My family requested it 2 days in a row. This is now in my favorite queue! I actually added more than the recommended amount of cabbage, but there was plenty of dressing for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I make this recipe all the time, it is called Amish Cole Slaw, the recipe is from allrecipe.com data base. If no one commented you had not let it sit and marinate long enough. I never take it anywhere that I do not get asked for the recipe. I refer them to allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Dean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cuenca, Azuay, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time yesterday and it was GREAT! I added some celery seed to it. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Did not like. Had to drain liquid repeatedly. I have another recipe which is much better. For that reason I did not tweak or made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States