Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Tastes great! As other reviews have mentioned, I halved the vinegar and oil. I did not have white vinegar on hand and used rice instead. I also reduced the sugar to 2 T and substituted dijon mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I substituted Splenda for the sugar without any problem. I also decreased the oil a little bit this time to save some calories. Everyone in my family loves this recipe, even though they hate mayonnaise based coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
my 20 something son said "I could eat this all day!" I lik the ease of prep and simple ingredients. Next time I will use more cabbage and /or less dressing. The red onion color makes it look great.. could use yellow or white if needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Delicious, but especially after sitting for longer. My boyfriend and I made this to compliment our BBQ and it turned out delicously. We used pre-packaged slaw greens and followed the recipe exactly. I would say that using apple cider vinegar may impart for flavor for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
OMG (is actually what I said when I first tasted this tangy and delicious coleslaw). I used a bag of pre-cut coleslaw mix, omitted the onions and celery, and cut the recipe in half (I probably could have cut it down to 1/3 actually), and it turned out beyond my expectations. I made it 3 days ago and only opened it up today (it was pink from the purple cabbage), and honestly loved it! I am one of those people who hates creamy coleslaw, so this recipe was perfect for me - simple and delicious. I WILL be making this again without a doubt! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Loved this coleslaw!!! It goes perfect on a spicy North Carolina pulled pork BBQ sandwich. Thanks for the recipe it's a keeper!!!! Oh one thing, I didn't have a red onion so I used a yellow....it works just fine but next time I'll use a red!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiamagdalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Absolutely the best. I did not change a thing. This recipe is definately a keepter. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
My husband loves this. He doesn't like sweet stuff so this had the right amount of tang to balance it out. Also, the fact that there is no mayo is a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
It is tasty! But could use less sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Very good coleslaw recipe! I usually prefer the creamy type. I was leary about the amount of sugar and also adding hot dressing to the cabbage as we like coleslaw crunchy but it was really good! The only thing I added was 1/4 tsp celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States