Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is a really good coleslaw, I followed the recipe for the marinde pretty closely, except that I substituted stevia in the raw packets for sugar. I mixed it with 1 16oz bag of traditional cabbage coleslaw and 1 16oz bag of rainbow coleslaw, so it made alot.. It lasted until I finshed it, I didn't even have to throw any of it away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBstr8up

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe as listed with the exception of using rice vinegar and about 2/3 of the sugar and 1/2 the salt. For me, it was just too sweet. I will make this again and might add additional veggies, but would reduce the sugar even further. I don't eat much sugar, except that in fruits, so perhaps my sensitivity is greater for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
EXCELLENT! I didn't change a thing, and have wow'd several folks with this one. It's a keeper! Yes, it leaves a lot of juice behind, but we just sliced up more cabbage, carrots etc and pickled another batch. LOVE THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is a great tangy recipe! I followed the recipe exactly except for the dry mustard. I used 3tablespoon of prepared mustard instead. I made this the night before our potluck dinner but it was even better for lunch following our dinner (36hrs in the fridge). I discarded some of the liquid but even if I didnt the cabbage still would've been crunchy. I made this to accompany my crockpot pulled pork and it was a hit! Im glad I made this tangy version instead of a mayo based version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I really like the dressing used 1 Tablespoon of white Stevia instead of a cup of sugar. Works just as well. Really has a great flavor if made up 4hrs before you eat. Everyone ate it and said it was great cold Slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Haven't tried this version but I have a very similar recipe. For those who can't do sugar, a lesser volume of Splenda can be substituted. My recipe calls for boiling the oil and sugar along with the dry ingredients then adding this to the vegetables. This wilts the cabbage and makes the flavors good from the start. The vegetables I use are sweet onion along with diced bell and diced red peppers .... hence the name for mine 'Stop and Go Coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
"Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw" has a strangely addictive "sweet and sour" taste. I replaced the sugar with half the amount of honey and added a little cayenne. It was perfect for us like that. Thank you DOTMAYTRX for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I've been making this coleslaw every summer for the past few years. My family really loves it. We're not usually fans of mayo-based coleslaws so, this one was perfect. The sweet tangy taste is a great compliment to grilled meats/bbq or even in sandwiches. I've used splenda in place of the sugar before due to some diabetics in the family. It's just as good that way as well. I've also used half red cabbage before for added color but, after it sits for awhile, it turns the whole salad pink. Lol. I also followed other reviewers tips about halving the sauce ingredients. I think it's the perfect amount this way. Delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this using 1/2 apple cider vinegar and 1/2 white. I also reduced the sugar greatly since we don't like salads too sweet. It was very good and held up in the fridge for a few days. A great change from the Mayo salads. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I couldn't give this a five because I think the recipe calls for way too much liquid. I wish I had taken others' advice and cut it in half. I used a yellow onion instead of red and white wine vinegar instead of regular because that's what I had on hand. The flavors were great but I wish I didn't have to drain, therefore waste, lots of good vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States