Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I have made this several times and have gotten to the point of totally leaving out the mustard and it tastes much better without it. I do add red pepper for taste and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
very good! I made this to get rid of some cabbage and take to a family event...I am not a fan of coleslaw at all and I would even eat it! Definitely a sweet and sour type of flavor. I cut down on the sugar and oil a bit, attempting to make it just a bit more healthy. Otherwise I stuck to the recipe and I did not have the over abundance of extra juice, so I would not necessarily recommend cutting down on the amounts of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Excellent. Make it a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Tastes great! As other reviews have mentioned, I halved the vinegar and oil. I did not have white vinegar on hand and used rice instead. I also reduced the sugar to 2 T and substituted dijon mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I substituted Splenda for the sugar without any problem. I also decreased the oil a little bit this time to save some calories. Everyone in my family loves this recipe, even though they hate mayonnaise based coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
my 20 something son said "I could eat this all day!" I lik the ease of prep and simple ingredients. Next time I will use more cabbage and /or less dressing. The red onion color makes it look great.. could use yellow or white if needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Delicious, but especially after sitting for longer. My boyfriend and I made this to compliment our BBQ and it turned out delicously. We used pre-packaged slaw greens and followed the recipe exactly. I would say that using apple cider vinegar may impart for flavor for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
OMG (is actually what I said when I first tasted this tangy and delicious coleslaw). I used a bag of pre-cut coleslaw mix, omitted the onions and celery, and cut the recipe in half (I probably could have cut it down to 1/3 actually), and it turned out beyond my expectations. I made it 3 days ago and only opened it up today (it was pink from the purple cabbage), and honestly loved it! I am one of those people who hates creamy coleslaw, so this recipe was perfect for me - simple and delicious. I WILL be making this again without a doubt! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Loved this coleslaw!!! It goes perfect on a spicy North Carolina pulled pork BBQ sandwich. Thanks for the recipe it's a keeper!!!! Oh one thing, I didn't have a red onion so I used a yellow....it works just fine but next time I'll use a red!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiamagdalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Absolutely the best. I did not change a thing. This recipe is definately a keepter. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States