Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Great recipe! You definitely have to let it set for a day or two for the flavors to meld together, so make this a few days before you need to serve it. You may also have to drain the liquid as it sits as it can accumulate quite a bit. As others have said, the heat of the dressing will make the cabbage wilt a bit. It is still crunchy, but it decreases the volume. If you are using precut coleslaw mix, I would use 2-3 bags. If you want more tangy flavor, use a full cup of white vinegar. I used 1/2 white vinegar, 1/2 red. (One time I used plain rice vinegar instead of red because I ran out and it still turned out fine!) I definitely did not use a full cup of sugar--especially if you are doing 1/2 white 1/2 red vinegar. My family is SUPER picky, so I had to omit the fresh celery and onion, but instead I used dried celery seed and onion powder. Otherwise, this is a wonderful,refreshing coleslaw recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I used two 14 oz bags of ready made coleslaw one small vidalia onion and halved the recipe of sugar and sauce. For the vinegar I used half apple cider and half regular vinegars. I added about 1 tbsp of celery seed. This is the best make ahead coleslaw recipe I have made. I am serving it tomorrow but it was good enough to eat right after I made it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I made this for a picnic because I didn't want a mayo based slaw for an outdoor event, and I had all the ingredients. I made half the dressing, as suggested, and when I first tasted it, I was very disappointed. It was too sweet, and it seemed mostly flavorless. Then I had leftovers after the slaw had spent the night in the fridge, and it was a different dish all together. I was worried at the lack of seasoning, but the mustard came through after marinating. The sugar and the vinegar also seemed to mix and pickle everything. Even the flavor of the onion came through better. I will make this again. I am going to attempt it with slightly less sugar next time, and then I will update. But in all I really like this recipe and suggest absolutely letting it sit in the fridge at least overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Hands down, the best coleslaw I've ever had. I reduce the sugar by half, but otherwise I make exactly as written. I get compliments every time I bring this to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marli Larimer
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I just love this recipe so much! It it so easy to prepare :) Sometimes I will use balsamic vinegar instead of the normal ones to give it a boost :) Thank you so much for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leka Leqa Saverin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I made 5 GALLONS this 2 yrs ago for a wedding/BBQ. I'm still getting requests for the recipe. I must say I added lots of colored peppers, parsley and garlic. Thanks Dad (and was so much better after a few days).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Planet Chaos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I have been making this coleslaw for a couple of years now and absolutely love it. The longer it sits the better it is. Made it for a luau (80+ people) last year and everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I have used this recipe for a couple of yrs now. I may change it up a bit now and again, but a HOT dressing is the bestest way to make slaw. I drain the slaw after an over-nite and then mix in some mayo, I like creamy slaw. Also, if anyone cares the real secret to great slaw is finely shredded cabbage, NOT chopped, or made with a knife, but shredded as with a mandolin or a slicing machine. Chopped cabbage is just nasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This was my first time EVER making coleslaw from scratch. Used a cheese grater for the cabbage and other ingredients. Also way too much onion; half or even a fourth. Had to add mayo for kids and spouses taste and allowed liquids to cool a little before pouring on top. Better next day after its cold. But a great recipe. We're going to try the other recipes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
It was a hit, even with the non-lovin' coleslaw eaters! It was worth a "print" for the "make again please" cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States