Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This turned out great! My dad especially loves it. Everytime I make it he takes all the leftovers home and eats it for the next few days. No complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was my first time ever making a stew, and it turned out fine for me. Though the amount was a lot more than I expected even after using tiny potatoes instead of large ones. Though next time I think I'm going to put the veggies in later, because I'm not a fan of soft veggies. Overall I had no problems with this stew and neither did my family, seeing as they went for bowl after bowl, even in the middle of Texas heat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I usually like to make my beef stew in the slow cooker. I tried it this way, and it made a wonderful gravy and the veggies were good. I just don't like how tough the meat comes out cooking this way, since it is always so tender when done in a slow cooker. If I were to make this again, I would add more seasonings. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Easy and Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Fabulous! I added more onions, and went lighter on the potatoes. I happened to have beef bones on hand, so I made my own stock, and that really made a difference in the final taste of the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This is an excellent, hearty stew. Although I had no complaints, my husband thought it was a little bland so next time I'll play around a bit with a few spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This recipe is good to give you an idea of how to make Beef Stew. I had to make several altercations to this, as to just looking at the ingredients showed it to be a bland recipe. Alterations I used that made this a hit all around. I increased the garlic powder used, to nearly triple. Used the salt and pepper to own preferential tastes. I dredged the meat as intstructed, but in the oil I'd minced up about 3 cloves of fresh garlic. After the meat was done, I added in another clove of minced garlic, and quickly seasoned/fried up the celery/carrots/I used 2 medium onions opposed to boiling ones/potatoes. You don't do this very long, you want the veggies a bit browned, seasonsed and coated. I put the 3 cups of broth in a sauce pan and brought it to a boil with 2 cloves of minced garlic inside the broth. I also added about a half teaspoon of each Italian herbs, Rosemary, Thyme and Oregano. Boiled the meat and broth for 45 minutes, then I added 1/2 cup white wine and the vegetables we'd sauteed earlier. Brought it all to a boil, simmered for 30 minutes. I found no need to add any other fluids/flours to thicken or thin this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Leave out tomatoes from first reveiw and add all the salt they suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I followed the basic outline of this recipe but I also incorporated Caroline's(from Buffalo Grove, Il.)suggestions except for the sage and Rosemary. The V8 was a great idea! I also used Knorr bouillon flavor "Costillas de Res"(beef ribs)instead of beef stock. Plain old sliced white onion was all I had on hand but it worked just fine. My family loved it. I also added 1 tsp. chili powder to the flour with the paprika. Added a little zip to the meat. Now, I added the veggies about 20 minutes after the meat, onions and stock. They came out perfect. I did keep their size rather small(maybe that was why I didn't have any under-cooked veggies)about the same size as the meat. Overall, I was happy with this recipe after the tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cicero, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Simple to make, and the taste is good. I followed the recipe, except I omitted the celery.[per my taste, I am not crazy about celery]. I will make it again. Thanks for the easy, great recipe Margo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States