Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arielle123isfab
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Awesome stew- perfect for a rainy day! I added salt and fresh herbs to spice it up a bit more. Also added a few bay leaves and substituted some of the beef broth with an oatmeal stout. The beef got sooo tender it was delicious! I've made this a few times now it is a favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I agree with other reviews, this makes a good "base" but isn't exactly what I would consider enough to make a tasty stew. I took the advice of others and added a sprinkle of Worchestshire sauce. I made the mistake of adding too much of the water/flour thickener so it was a bit too thick but just added a bit of water to thin it. I really didn't care for the garlic powder. But, this is more if a personal choice, I rarely use it in any of my cooking. Next time I will use a bit of Garlic salt and then just season the rest with salt and pepper. I added the potatoes toward the end but it was still too much time and they were a bit mushy but not bad. Next time I will add toward the last 15-20 minutes of cooking. Overall, it was good but I gave it 3 stars for the blandness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Boring & Bland. This recipe is truly missing flavor when made as written. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This stew was great, but I did make some additions. First I made 18 servings (3 pounds of stew meat) and and adjusted the rest of the amounts for that. I did flour and brown the meat which, in the end, was good enough for the thickening. I simmered the meat with a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes in juice and all ingredients up to the vegetables for 1 hour. After the hour I added the vegies, but cut down the potatoes to 8 medium sized. After continuing to simmer for another 30 to 45 minutes I added about 1 cup of frozen peas, thawed, and 1 cup of roasted corn (Trader Joes has it) thawed. The stew turned out tender, delicious and thick enough -- it actually tasted even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This came out great. It was actually thick enough at the end of cooking. I really didn't need to thicken it at all! Thanks for a great - classic stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Wonderful aroma while simmering! Upon others suggestion, I added a splash of worcesire (sp?) sauce, some rosemary, thyme, bay leaves, garlic, and a big tomato. I'm not usually a fan of anything with meat in it, but the meat in this came out so tender and flavorful, it was a hit! Will definitely make again. :)(Would give it the extra star, but without the added spices, I think it may have come out a bit bland)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This beef stew is very good. I will say I am not a big fan of stew meat and used sirlion beef tips instead. I did not have boiling onions so i used a whole onion cut up. I also add a few tsp of gravy master for some additional flavor and two bay leafs. I add the vegetables and potato at the last hour or so of cooking. Freezes very well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This came out extremely tasty. Definitely needed more salt...alot more. I ended up using 2 medium yellow onions instead of small boiling onions, as that's what I had on hand. I would say not to add the veggies until the last hour for still soft but not mushy potatoes. Added some thyme and a dash of worcestershire sauce for flavor like I read in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
First I have to tell you-I have never even dreamed of making beef stew. This was DELICIOUS! I can't believe how easy it is to make stew. I really love that it's cooked on the stove instead of a slow cooker cause I was craving it now! My changes: precut LEAN stew beef; I used steak seasoning instead of garlic, salt and pepper; used 1/2 c cooked barley added at the end instead of potatoes; and probably used more broth-I didn't measure, just added till covered; and I didn't have to add any flour at the end, the gravy was thick the whole time it cooked. YUMMY! One more thing, I tried to used crisco butter spray instead of oil, but no sizzle of the meat, so then I used the oil and voila! So I wonder if this is why it tasted buttery once it was done? That is fine with me though. And maybe I will add peas to it next time. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States