Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Heavenly! I use this recipe to prepare my pot roasts, too, by tossing the entire roast in the recipe's flour/garlic mixture, then browning it before adding the side veggies (whole potatoes and carrots) and broth. Then I leave the entire deal in my crockpot all day, and the resulting roast is THE best roast we've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made my own variation. I used canned potatoes, canned mushrooms, baby carrots chopped up and boiled and regular onion ½ of one is good. Turnips or squash chunks would be an idea to add in too. No celery. I also added a cup of water while cooking so it wasn’t as thick. It may have been the water added but taste after everything is cooked, it was a tiny bit bland, but still good, nothing a little salt can’t fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
We were in the mood for a stew the way "MeMaw" used to make. Pretty close! Depending on your taste, you might want to add extra seasoning. We also found the beef broth to have a slight after taste, so will probably dilute the broth with water next time. Overall a great stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I was looking for a good basic recipe that I didn't have to put into the oven and this is the perfect base. I added some stewed tomatoes and the served it with egg noodles or with perogies. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Very good for a base recipe,tweaked it a little-bay leaf,rosemary,more salt,a bit of wine.Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Very simple recipe and very similar to the stew that I grew up with. I like it a lot. If you like a lot of herbs and what not then you will have to add that. I gave it 4 stars for what was there. I did not give it five because I added a few things to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Followed recipe pretty exactly but didn't use celery. It was ok...I wasn't that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is like grandmaws everone like it. even my picky eaters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Excellent base recipe! This is just what I was looking for: A thick hearty soup with tender beef stew meat. I make beef stew a lot in the crock pot, but have never liked the meat because it was tough. I was searching for a recipe that gave me tender meat and this was it! Wow! I did add more seasonings, but the overall I followed the recipe to the letter. It is well written and easy to follow! I love it! If you are looking for a tender beef stew recipe that your whole family will love; give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Great recipe...I would use less potatoes and add more veggies like peas and added some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States