Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
Awesome! Very easy and VERY, VERY good. After reading previous reviews, I took many suggestion to great success. I used to 2 choice round steaks and cut them up. Added 2 more teaspoons of salt. Reduced Pepper to 1/2-teaspoon. The browning of the meat is definitely important, do this with care and make sure you get a nice crust on the meat without burning. Also added to great delight fresh herbs - thyme, sage, rosemary and 2 dry bay leaves as well as 1 can of crushed tomatoes + 2 tablespoons of Worchestire. Warning...you will need a big pot, this makes alot. Another suggestion, brown meat and onions in another large saute pan and deglaze with a little of the broth and butter. I didn't have beef broth so I used beef boullion and boiling water instead and it still turned out great. Also, used corn starch mixed with water instead to thicken. It was all gone and even my mother loved it to my surprise. A definite WINNER and REPEAT recipe. Thanks Angel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
When I see FIVE STAR recipes reviewed by this many people, I expect the recipe itself to stand on it's own, with little or no modification. As is, this recipe is a TWO STAR; unless you like somewhat bland mashed potatoes with beef chunks, then I suppose it might be a FOUR STAR. I agree with many of the other reviewers that this DOES need spiced up. I, too, tried the stewed tomatoes, sage, rosemary, thyme, bay leaves and worcestershire sauce. After those rather major modifications, I still cannot give this recipe a FIVE because, putting the potatoes in when instructed, I ended up with "tastier mashed potatoes with beef chunks". Being new to cooking stews, I had no idea that the two hour time would be excessive for potatoes. Everyone I've talked to since, including good old mother, said they normally add potatoes the last half hour or so of simmering. Which, makes sense since at about a half hour into the two hours, I got a bit nervous when the potatoes were done, but the carrots were not... AND the flavor had not had enough time to cook into the stew. Since I'm a novice chef and am more apt to "go by the book" rather than invent ideas on my own, I'd request anyone who got the PERFECT combination of spices and time frames together to improve upon this recipe to create a brand new (and improved) entry on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Like many of the reviewers here, I followed OLIVERCADO's reccomendations (sort by most useful to see his review) and made some adjustments of my own to create this delicious stew. These are the changes I made: 1) From Olivercado: I increased the salt to 3 tsps, and reduced the pepper to 1/2 tsp. I added thyme and sage, but I used 1 tsp each of dried herbs instead of fresh (I omitted the Rosemary). I added 2 bay leaves, 2 TBS worchestershire sauce, and a can of tomatoes, although the ones I had on hand were diced and seasoned with garlic instead of crushed. 2) I cut up a cross rib roast for this dish and so I had about 2.5 lbs instead of 2. 3) I cooked this in the crock pot, having browned the meat and onion first. I cooked on high for 2 hours then reduced the heat to low for about 4 more hours. 4) Because I was using a slow cooker, I reduced the liquid. I added only a cup of beef broth, and a cup of chablis blanc. I usually use red wines or burgandy in beef dishes, but the chablis turned out well giving the finished stew a rich mellow flavor. 5) I used about 5 medium potatoes instead of 6 large. I used a whole chopped yellow onion instead of 12 boiling onions, I used 1/2 lb of prepared (bagged) baby carrots. The stew was rich and flavorful and the consistency just right--no need to thicken. I will definitely make this again although I will probably increase the dried spices to 1 1/2-2 tsps. each and add some green beans. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
Turned out great, however, I did do the following: #1. Added bay leaf, crushed garlic, oregano & thyme. #2. Do not add the potatoes, carrots and celery until 40 minutes before stew to be done. Bring stew back up to boil, add vegetables, then reduce heat back to low, cover and cook the additional 40 minutes until veggies are done. #3. Like all stews, let sit for at least 1/2 hour before serving. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This is a very delicious and hearty recipe. It will definitely fill you up! I also took much of the advice of OLIVERCADO. You can find the review by searching under most helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I followed some of the other review tips and added two more teaspoons of salt and cut the pepper in half. I added 2 tsp. of paprika to the flour mixture as well. I also added a pinch of tarragon, thyme, rosemary, sage, two bay leaves and 1 cup of tomato sauce (my kids don't like tomatos and it makes a wonderful color). I threw the potatos, carrots and celery in at the beginning and simmered for two hours and it was VERY tender and delicious. I added another can of beef broth to cover the potatos. Maybe my potatos are bigger :)! Thanks for a wonderfully tasty and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I have tried many different recipes from allrecipes.com and this is the first one I've just HAD to review. It was awesome! I used 6 cups of water with 6 beef boullion cubes instead of canned broth. I also added a splash of marsala wine and a splash of worcestershire sauce. This was absolutely delicous and will be a lifetime keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2WICKI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Ok, so I read the reviews prior to making this and I think it didn't work too well for us. I was sure that if I followed the recipe to the T, it would be bland (no seasonings whatsoever). Anyhow, I would agree to add more seasonings to this (thyme, rosemary, sage and bay leaf), but the suggestion of worchestire sauce and tomato sauce really killed it for us. Didn't taste like stew we're used to at least. Next time, I'm skipping the tomato sauce and worchestire and I'm sure it'll work out better for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Great tasting. This made more than I thought. But the left overs are great. I added some frozen peas near the end of cooking. I'll do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I added a can of diced tomatoes, rosemary and a bay leaf. I also added more salt. I browned the meat & onion and then put everything in a slow cooker. I put the carrots and potatoes in for the last 3 hours. The last half hour I added peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States