Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Simple to make, and the taste is good. I followed the recipe, except I omitted the celery.[per my taste, I am not crazy about celery]. I will make it again. Thanks for the easy, great recipe Margo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
this was your basic beef stew, very nice. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I love this recipe! It's really simple but so delicious! Every time another blizzard hits, I make another pot it. I even raved about it to the family and made some for them, when I visited home this past winter. They loved it! The smell from the kitchen is incredible, and I have the hardest time keeping my fingers out of the beef, while I'm preparing it. Thanks for this great recipe! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is a beef stew that my 16year old babysitter, who hates MEAT and ALL VEGGIES can eat TWO CUPS of! This is a beef stew that my 3 and 4 year old will eat and ask for seconds...veggies and all!! I highly recommend trying to use less beef broth (add a tablespoon of beef broth powder) and 2 10oz cans of crushed tomatoes!!! wow..flavor EXPLOSION! a MUST eat in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This recipe was wonderful. Everyone had seconds. I served it with dinner rolls and egg noodles and it made A LOT of servings. I used the seasonings adobo, complete seasoning, and sage. This is definitely on my "Make again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I cut this recipe in half but used two cans of beef broth instead of what should have been 1 1/2 cans. Still didn't feel like it made enough gravy, (I like gravy). Next time I will cut it in half and use three cans of beef broth. Also, used a packet of beef stew mix instead of flour for the thickening agent. Since it has seasoning in it I didn't add any salt but did add a bit of freshly ground black pepper. Added 3 tablespoons of worcestershire sauce, and 3 tablespoons of cheap red wine. Very tasty. Very tasty, indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windfall, Indiana, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I took the advice of others and added more spices to this. I also put the potatoes in it after about an hour before it was done. This was good. Will probably make again if I don't find another recipe I like better. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Good stew. Followed the recipe, it turned out kinda bland (salt maybe?). I used my dutch oven to make this, so I started it off on my stove top and finished it in a 300 degree oven for about an hour. Took it out of the oven and added the flour/water, replaced the lid and let it stand on my stove top until the rest of dinner was ready. It stayed plenty hot and thickened perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Very good recipe! My stew came out very tasty, and nice and thick(no need to add any extra flour). I was so happy that it came out so good because I am not the greatest cook. If my family really enjoys something that I've made, it must be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made this recipe as originally written, except I used regular onions cut into pieces, and I added a half-can of peeled chopped tomatoes. My husband absolutely loved this stew! I think this was one of his all time favorite meals ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States