Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was really good. I followed the recipe exactly, except I added some frozen peas in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This stuff is great! I add some sage, rosemary, and thyme if I have it on hand, and a little Worcestershire sauce. I usually only simmer it for no more than an hour and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I followed this recipe pretty much as it was. The only change I made was that I used chicken stock instead of beef stock because that was what I had. Even with the chicken stock, it turned out really good. It had a lot more flavor than it looked like it might. My youngest son told me it was the best stew he ever tasted and asked if I'd make again the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Really good! I used beef bouillon cubes instead of the canned beef broth and it still turned out great. Served with buttery dinner rolls for a very cozy and comforting meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is the best Beef Stew ever! My picky 21 year old who only eats chicken thought this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This turned out great! My dad especially loves it. Everytime I make it he takes all the leftovers home and eats it for the next few days. No complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was my first time ever making a stew, and it turned out fine for me. Though the amount was a lot more than I expected even after using tiny potatoes instead of large ones. Though next time I think I'm going to put the veggies in later, because I'm not a fan of soft veggies. Overall I had no problems with this stew and neither did my family, seeing as they went for bowl after bowl, even in the middle of Texas heat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I usually like to make my beef stew in the slow cooker. I tried it this way, and it made a wonderful gravy and the veggies were good. I just don't like how tough the meat comes out cooking this way, since it is always so tender when done in a slow cooker. If I were to make this again, I would add more seasonings. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Easy and Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Fabulous! I added more onions, and went lighter on the potatoes. I happened to have beef bones on hand, so I made my own stock, and that really made a difference in the final taste of the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States