Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Very good for a base recipe,tweaked it a little-bay leaf,rosemary,more salt,a bit of wine.Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Very simple recipe and very similar to the stew that I grew up with. I like it a lot. If you like a lot of herbs and what not then you will have to add that. I gave it 4 stars for what was there. I did not give it five because I added a few things to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Followed recipe pretty exactly but didn't use celery. It was ok...I wasn't that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is like grandmaws everone like it. even my picky eaters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Excellent base recipe! This is just what I was looking for: A thick hearty soup with tender beef stew meat. I make beef stew a lot in the crock pot, but have never liked the meat because it was tough. I was searching for a recipe that gave me tender meat and this was it! Wow! I did add more seasonings, but the overall I followed the recipe to the letter. It is well written and easy to follow! I love it! If you are looking for a tender beef stew recipe that your whole family will love; give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Great recipe...I would use less potatoes and add more veggies like peas and added some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arielle123isfab
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Awesome stew- perfect for a rainy day! I added salt and fresh herbs to spice it up a bit more. Also added a few bay leaves and substituted some of the beef broth with an oatmeal stout. The beef got sooo tender it was delicious! I've made this a few times now it is a favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I agree with other reviews, this makes a good "base" but isn't exactly what I would consider enough to make a tasty stew. I took the advice of others and added a sprinkle of Worchestshire sauce. I made the mistake of adding too much of the water/flour thickener so it was a bit too thick but just added a bit of water to thin it. I really didn't care for the garlic powder. But, this is more if a personal choice, I rarely use it in any of my cooking. Next time I will use a bit of Garlic salt and then just season the rest with salt and pepper. I added the potatoes toward the end but it was still too much time and they were a bit mushy but not bad. Next time I will add toward the last 15-20 minutes of cooking. Overall, it was good but I gave it 3 stars for the blandness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Boring & Bland. This recipe is truly missing flavor when made as written. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States