Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I love this recipe. This is just like the beef stew I grew up with. I cut my potatoes into bigger chunks, so they don't get too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I fixed this last night, and made some of my own changes. I ALWAYS add mustard to a beef that I am going to brown first just because it is a meat tenderizer. Then I roll it in the seasoned flour and turned it on high to brown. NEVER NEVER would I add potatoes until the last 20-30 min. because I want a potatoe to stand on it's own and not be mush. It's like making a cake, why would you just add water when water has no flavor? you add milk. The potatoes have no flavor because they have turned to mush. I also added a can of peas at the end. This is a recipe that has potential, but you just have to play with it and make it your own. Happy cooking everybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe is lacking in several key areas: lack of adequate seasoning, adding the vegetables wayyyy too early in the cooking time (stew should be simmered 1-2 hrs until meat is tender, then potatoes and onions added for last 35-40 minutes). You can read a lot of the reviews to make the needed improvements (see olivercado and happyapple) but know that this recipe is woefully inadequate as submitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Eimann Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Perfect Beef Stew, Stick to the Bones Beef Stew!!! Add 2 Bay Leafs while cooking, and Parsley before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALESIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
after reading the reviews, WOW! i decided to thank margo for a very good recipe! everyone has another idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This tasted delicious. I am known to be culinarily challenged and the recipe still turned out great!! I definitely recommend using OLIVERCADO's recommendation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Heavenly! I use this recipe to prepare my pot roasts, too, by tossing the entire roast in the recipe's flour/garlic mixture, then browning it before adding the side veggies (whole potatoes and carrots) and broth. Then I leave the entire deal in my crockpot all day, and the resulting roast is THE best roast we've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made my own variation. I used canned potatoes, canned mushrooms, baby carrots chopped up and boiled and regular onion ½ of one is good. Turnips or squash chunks would be an idea to add in too. No celery. I also added a cup of water while cooking so it wasn’t as thick. It may have been the water added but taste after everything is cooked, it was a tiny bit bland, but still good, nothing a little salt can’t fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
We were in the mood for a stew the way "MeMaw" used to make. Pretty close! Depending on your taste, you might want to add extra seasoning. We also found the beef broth to have a slight after taste, so will probably dilute the broth with water next time. Overall a great stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I was looking for a good basic recipe that I didn't have to put into the oven and this is the perfect base. I added some stewed tomatoes and the served it with egg noodles or with perogies. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States