Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I really liked this recipe. I made it for my company and they were really impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
very good stew - my family enjoyed the left overs even more once the flavors had a chance to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Italy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I am rating this 5 stars after I made a second time with some modifications to my first (4 stars) Both times I converted recipe to a 6 serving size (serves 12 as is). Second time I added a 4th potato, 8oz "no salt added" tomato sauce (added some color as well as flavor), left out the boiling onions on kids request, added a little more regular onions to the first batch about 1/2 way through and added about 3/4 cup frozen peas. Also had to use a little corn starch to thicken it up a bit, otherwise a very nice stew on a cold weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayport, New York, USA
Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Unimpressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Very Good BEEF STEW!! I let it cook all day in the slow cooker and it was awesome! The only thing I did different was ADD PEAS to it which I happen to like in my stew! Very easy to prepare the night before and let cook all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I made this stew last week and it turned out great. It made the entire house smell delicious. Start this early as it does take some time to cook. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This makes A LOT so if you don't have a big stock pot, half the recipe. I followed the directions as written except I added about a cup of red wine with the beef broth & used a chopped onion instead of boiling onions. I also did not peel the potatoes. Turned out great. I skipped the thickening part, too. Serve with crusty French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
It's easy. My family loved it. It has became a favorit. I've been making it for about two years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was just okay. Seemed to need more spice, maybe a bay leaf or 2? I used half water and half beer, cooked the meat and onions for 1 hour than added the potatoes and carrots and continued you cooking for another hour. I threw in a handful or so of frozen peas for the last 15 minutes. I thickened it with a can of beef gravy. This was not the stew recipe for me, will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This was an okay beef stew recipe. I thought it was a bit bland. I added some peas and corn to it to liven it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States