Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Excellent recipe. I loved the onions. I added a little of sherry wine and three bay leaves. Then let it simmer for 1 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Excellent Stew! I've been cooking variations of stew for several years and added a few of my favorite ingredients to this recipe. I used a diced yellow onion in place of boiling onions, and eliminated the celery due to personal preference. I added a can of Italian seasoned tomatoes, 2 bay leaves, and 2 tsp. paprika. I thickened with cornstarch in place of flour; and added salt to taste at the end. My picky husband said it was the best stew he'd ever eaten. Great recipe with some very minor changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I used a combination of this recipe and another recipe from this site. I did use the flour mixture to bread the meat but added 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper for an extra kick. I didn't have 3 cans of broth so I used 2 beef stock cubes, 2 cups of water and 1 can of broth with 1 can of water. I also used chopped white onion because that's all I had and added a pinch of thyme and 3 bay leaves. Actually it was thick enough after about an hour that I didn't add anything at the end for thickening. My husband loved it and thanked me for the great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Really great stew!! I added some ground mustard, a bay leaf, and some seasoning salt. I don't like potatoes in my stew so I left these out. Amazing!! my family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKENNEDY76
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
WOW, this is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Great stew! Perfect comfort food! I use yellow onion if I can't find the boiler onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
We love this beef stew. Have also taken it to work and my co-workers gobble it all up. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
It was a nice basic recipe. I cut the potatoes in big chunks and left the skins on so they would get too mushy. I used a ziploc bag to evenly coat the meat with flour and herbs. I also added cooking sherry. Oh, and I added a bit of tomato paste for flavor. Nice basics but this recipe needs some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This started off a bit bland so I had to spice it up a bit. I added some thyme, a bay leaf, and some fresh garlic. It still seemed a bit bland so at the end I added a package of brown gravy which made a richer gravy. Next time I will add my potatoes the last hour of cooking because alot of them fell apart. This has potential and was a good base recipe for stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States