Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I took the advice of others and added more spices to this. I also put the potatoes in it after about an hour before it was done. This was good. Will probably make again if I don't find another recipe I like better. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Good stew. Followed the recipe, it turned out kinda bland (salt maybe?). I used my dutch oven to make this, so I started it off on my stove top and finished it in a 300 degree oven for about an hour. Took it out of the oven and added the flour/water, replaced the lid and let it stand on my stove top until the rest of dinner was ready. It stayed plenty hot and thickened perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Very good recipe! My stew came out very tasty, and nice and thick(no need to add any extra flour). I was so happy that it came out so good because I am not the greatest cook. If my family really enjoys something that I've made, it must be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made this recipe as originally written, except I used regular onions cut into pieces, and I added a half-can of peeled chopped tomatoes. My husband absolutely loved this stew! I think this was one of his all time favorite meals ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was a good starting point for beef stew. I started cooking at 9 am, so the meat was super tender by 3, when we ate it. I added 1 small can of v8, 1 tsp sage, 2 bay leaves, 3 dashes worcestershire sauce, 1 1/2 tsp minced garlic, 1/2 tsp dried rosemary, about 2 tsp more salt, and a little more pepper. As another reviewer suggested, I added about 2 tsp paprika to the flour for dredging. I added my potatoes about 1 hr before the stew was done. I also added a can of sweet peas. As my stew was cooking, it was pretty greasy looking, though it seemed to look better after I added the potatoes. Next time I will cut some of the fat off of the meat. The stew turned out pretty darn good, but I made many alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe is good, but here's a few notes. When I browned the beef, I had to turn up the heat (to full high, not med/high) because it wasn't browning well. To the stew I added some italian seasoning, chili flakes, bay leaves and 2 cans of diced tomatoes. Due to other reviews I waited 1 hour before putting the potatoes in, so they were only in for an hour-- not a good idea. The potatoes didn't come up "stew-like" and were a little too firm. It's probably best to put them a half hour in or maybe just at the beginning like the recipe instructs. Since I put in the tomatoes, the recipe made almost a full 8qt pot of stew. It was good, but will make few more tweaks next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Fansastic! I have tried and failed several times to make an "old fashioned" beef stew. This one hit the nail on the head. The only ingredient we added was Merlot. Yum! Make on a cold winter day and add some garlic bread for a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoneSideways

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I followed the directions exactly and found that I did need to thicken it. I agree with those who think it needs spices. Ironically, my potatoes did not evercook, but my carrots did. This is one I think you will have to play around with to get just right, but it's a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was a great recipe! It's a keeper! I also made the stew in the crock pot, however I cooked the whole thing on low for eight hours, adding the potatoes for the last 6. TO the flour I added a little garlic powder, extra black pepper, and some paprika. And to the pot I added 2 bay leaves. This is definately not a bland recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States