Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is the best Beef Stew ever! My picky 21 year old who only eats chicken thought this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This turned out great! My dad especially loves it. Everytime I make it he takes all the leftovers home and eats it for the next few days. No complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was my first time ever making a stew, and it turned out fine for me. Though the amount was a lot more than I expected even after using tiny potatoes instead of large ones. Though next time I think I'm going to put the veggies in later, because I'm not a fan of soft veggies. Overall I had no problems with this stew and neither did my family, seeing as they went for bowl after bowl, even in the middle of Texas heat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I usually like to make my beef stew in the slow cooker. I tried it this way, and it made a wonderful gravy and the veggies were good. I just don't like how tough the meat comes out cooking this way, since it is always so tender when done in a slow cooker. If I were to make this again, I would add more seasonings. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Easy and Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Fabulous! I added more onions, and went lighter on the potatoes. I happened to have beef bones on hand, so I made my own stock, and that really made a difference in the final taste of the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This is an excellent, hearty stew. Although I had no complaints, my husband thought it was a little bland so next time I'll play around a bit with a few spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This recipe is good to give you an idea of how to make Beef Stew. I had to make several altercations to this, as to just looking at the ingredients showed it to be a bland recipe. Alterations I used that made this a hit all around. I increased the garlic powder used, to nearly triple. Used the salt and pepper to own preferential tastes. I dredged the meat as intstructed, but in the oil I'd minced up about 3 cloves of fresh garlic. After the meat was done, I added in another clove of minced garlic, and quickly seasoned/fried up the celery/carrots/I used 2 medium onions opposed to boiling ones/potatoes. You don't do this very long, you want the veggies a bit browned, seasonsed and coated. I put the 3 cups of broth in a sauce pan and brought it to a boil with 2 cloves of minced garlic inside the broth. I also added about a half teaspoon of each Italian herbs, Rosemary, Thyme and Oregano. Boiled the meat and broth for 45 minutes, then I added 1/2 cup white wine and the vegetables we'd sauteed earlier. Brought it all to a boil, simmered for 30 minutes. I found no need to add any other fluids/flours to thicken or thin this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Leave out tomatoes from first reveiw and add all the salt they suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I followed the basic outline of this recipe but I also incorporated Caroline's(from Buffalo Grove, Il.)suggestions except for the sage and Rosemary. The V8 was a great idea! I also used Knorr bouillon flavor "Costillas de Res"(beef ribs)instead of beef stock. Plain old sliced white onion was all I had on hand but it worked just fine. My family loved it. I also added 1 tsp. chili powder to the flour with the paprika. Added a little zip to the meat. Now, I added the veggies about 20 minutes after the meat, onions and stock. They came out perfect. I did keep their size rather small(maybe that was why I didn't have any under-cooked veggies)about the same size as the meat. Overall, I was happy with this recipe after the tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cicero, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States