Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I love this recipe. This is just like the beef stew I grew up with. I cut my potatoes into bigger chunks, so they don't get too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I fixed this last night, and made some of my own changes. I ALWAYS add mustard to a beef that I am going to brown first just because it is a meat tenderizer. Then I roll it in the seasoned flour and turned it on high to brown. NEVER NEVER would I add potatoes until the last 20-30 min. because I want a potatoe to stand on it's own and not be mush. It's like making a cake, why would you just add water when water has no flavor? you add milk. The potatoes have no flavor because they have turned to mush. I also added a can of peas at the end. This is a recipe that has potential, but you just have to play with it and make it your own. Happy cooking everybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe is lacking in several key areas: lack of adequate seasoning, adding the vegetables wayyyy too early in the cooking time (stew should be simmered 1-2 hrs until meat is tender, then potatoes and onions added for last 35-40 minutes). You can read a lot of the reviews to make the needed improvements (see olivercado and happyapple) but know that this recipe is woefully inadequate as submitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Perfect Beef Stew, Stick to the Bones Beef Stew!!! Add 2 Bay Leafs while cooking, and Parsley before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALESIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
after reading the reviews, WOW! i decided to thank margo for a very good recipe! everyone has another idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This tasted delicious. I am known to be culinarily challenged and the recipe still turned out great!! I definitely recommend using OLIVERCADO's recommendation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Heavenly! I use this recipe to prepare my pot roasts, too, by tossing the entire roast in the recipe's flour/garlic mixture, then browning it before adding the side veggies (whole potatoes and carrots) and broth. Then I leave the entire deal in my crockpot all day, and the resulting roast is THE best roast we've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made my own variation. I used canned potatoes, canned mushrooms, baby carrots chopped up and boiled and regular onion ½ of one is good. Turnips or squash chunks would be an idea to add in too. No celery. I also added a cup of water while cooking so it wasn’t as thick. It may have been the water added but taste after everything is cooked, it was a tiny bit bland, but still good, nothing a little salt can’t fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
We were in the mood for a stew the way "MeMaw" used to make. Pretty close! Depending on your taste, you might want to add extra seasoning. We also found the beef broth to have a slight after taste, so will probably dilute the broth with water next time. Overall a great stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I was looking for a good basic recipe that I didn't have to put into the oven and this is the perfect base. I added some stewed tomatoes and the served it with egg noodles or with perogies. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States