Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Good but missing some umph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is terrible. I questioned simmering vegs along with the meat for 2 hours . This a given that mush will develop. Who ever heard of cooking potates and carrots for hours! Well, I did and should never have done so. Go with your gut feel. After 45 min,. I picked the meat out and am simmering it alone for another 2 hours and then will put the remaining t mush with it to try to salvage it. Read the negative reviews before attempting this awful, bland, mushy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I just tried out this recipe. Delicious! I used beef bouillon...didn't have canned. Also, I used a little wine to deglaze the pot after cooking the onions. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Really good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Was out of broth so I used bouillion cubes to make some. The recipe itself was bland and tasted like flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I liked it!!!! But i made it way to thick! so next time i wont make it so thick. I also add peas. i will make it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Loved this recipe as a base! I followed the advice about adding fresh herbs and adding the vegetables later on. I found that there wasn't enough of the soup part for everything cooking (the measurements for the veggies and meat were followed exactly) so added more beef broth, a mix of water and flour and more herbs. I also added some beer. The beef came out extremely tender and the vegetables were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
My daughter asked me to make stew "like Grama used to make" and this recipe did the trick. My mother was a big fan of herbs and spices but not in her stew. The only change I made was to use pearl onions I had in the freezer. Thanks, Angel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This is our FAVORITE stew recipe...I have a husband and two little boys to feed and if they like it then you know it's good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystina Hick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States