Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Was out of broth so I used bouillion cubes to make some. The recipe itself was bland and tasted like flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I liked it!!!! But i made it way to thick! so next time i wont make it so thick. I also add peas. i will make it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Loved this recipe as a base! I followed the advice about adding fresh herbs and adding the vegetables later on. I found that there wasn't enough of the soup part for everything cooking (the measurements for the veggies and meat were followed exactly) so added more beef broth, a mix of water and flour and more herbs. I also added some beer. The beef came out extremely tender and the vegetables were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
My daughter asked me to make stew "like Grama used to make" and this recipe did the trick. My mother was a big fan of herbs and spices but not in her stew. The only change I made was to use pearl onions I had in the freezer. Thanks, Angel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This is our FAVORITE stew recipe...I have a husband and two little boys to feed and if they like it then you know it's good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystina Hick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
great recipe! So easy and tasty. I put this in the crock pot after browning the meat and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I increased servings 50%, and adjusted amounts accordingly except for the carrots, where I added parsnips (a most under-utilized vegetable). Instead of salt, I used cayenne pepper in the flour mixture. After removing beef and before cooking onions, I de-glazed with beer, not broth. Instead of adjusting broth amounts, I used beer. I've made at least a swimming-pool amount of stew in my life, and this base with my changes is up in the top 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Okay, this is going to be one of those crazy reviews that is probably going to show up on the buzz. I did not have any onions, celery, or beef broth. I lightly coated the beef in flour and browned it in hot oil. I don't know what happend while the beef was cooking, but the flour began to fluff up. I used all purpose flour. So I had to take the beef out of the pan. Being tight on money, I could not throw the beef away so I got out my collander and washed the fluff off. I placed it back in the pan and continued to brown. Then I realized that I had no beef broth and no cubes to make broth out of. So, I had just frozen some pot roast and gravy. So I got out the gravy and placed it in the pot. It was delish!! So, needless to say this recipe is disaster and idiot proof!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Just awesome! I followed all the reviews and added 2 tsps more salt, plus 1 tsp thyme and 1 tsp sage. I only used a small can of tomatoes and will use a large can next time. Didn't add the rosemary as my family is not fond of it. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stinnett-Junkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States