Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Wow, this is a great base recipe. I omitted the celery, cubed the potatos, added green beans, and a little more seasoning, and the finished product turned out very tasty, and perfect for this chilly fall weather. I served the stew with some homemade french rolls, and dinner was a hit. Thank you for this recipe Margo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyRob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lapel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Excellent. Lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Great recipe but a little bland so I added rosemary, thyme, garlic powder and some beef bouillon granules. I also only added in half the potatoes from the start and then the other half about 30 minutes before it was done, so I would have chunky potato pieces. The thickening mixture of flour and water results in balls of flour in the stew but it does work. It killed the flavor of the stew a bit but just add more spices after that. I also added in a tablespoon of Dijon mustard for kicks as well, along with mushrooms. Instead of boiling onions, I used one regular chopped onion. I'd recommend just adding whatever veggies you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I absolutely loved the recipe. My husband and I (even my picky sister) loved it. I read all the reveiws. I made some changes like some of the reveiws. I added my potatoes the last hour. I added beef bouillon and seasoning salt for added flavor, I used one yellow vidallia onion and one can of beef gravy instead of the flour for thickening. It was great! I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Delicious! I made this tonight but with a couple changes. I omitted the celery since we don't care for it, and added salt and pepper to the simmering stew because it needed salt and we like pepper. Simmered it for 90 minutes and served with biscuits on the side. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
If you quarter the potatoes, they don't disentigrate. This stew was very tasty. I made this for a crowd of people and they all loved it, even my onion-hating boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I used red skinned potatoes and added a lot more pepper because I just like my stew to be very peppery. It was really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEWIS13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marissa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Cooks up very nice. Instead of beef broth, use dark beer and your favorite herbs for flavor. The original recipe was very bland for my taste. Also, the dish needs a little salt itself, not just in the meat before you brown it. Give it a try and make adjustments as you need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
It hasn't been mentioned that cooking the potatoes for two hours makes them fall apart and become practically non-existant. I suppose that what helps thicken the gravy. Even though I turned the burner on low, it was bubbling away under the lid so I had to stir it often. I really like chunky potatoes in my stew so getting to the point...this is a good recipe and I like the flavors. It is what basic old fashioned stew is supposed to taste like...no worcestershire sauce or tomato sauce. Next time, I'm going to follow the directions precisely except add the potatoes 1/2 hour before the stew is to be done so that the stew will be chunky. I realize that might effect the thickness of the gravy so I'll add the flour, water mix at the end too (which I didn't need to do because it was already so thick this time). Cooking the meat for so long makes the meat very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
I made this recipe for my family of four (hubby, two teenage boys). It must have been good because I didn't get any. The three of them ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States