Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This was an okay beef stew recipe. I thought it was a bit bland. I added some peas and corn to it to liven it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This stew recipe was awesome!! I have made it three times. It also makes great leftovers. I made some for my elderly neighbors and they loved it as well. Wonderful for a chilly day! Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I'm rating this based on my modifications. I used more broth than boullion cubes due to salt control. I browned the beef in a skillet, added wine to the beef bits and reducted a bit with some chopped onions, added flour and cooked until starch flavor is gone, added 2 bay leaves, garlic and onion powder, garlic pepper, italian seasoning and put all other ingrediants in a crock pot for 5 hrs on low. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I had never made beef stew before and this was a great base recipe to use. I combine ideas from different recipes and user reviews. I used a lot more seasoning when browning the beef. I used chopped onions that I had on-hand and more veggies than called for, including mushrooms. I quartered the potatoes and they thickened the stew enough, I didn't have to add the additional flour. Good thing too because it is much thicker the next day! I didn't have canned broth so I used boullion cubes with water and a beer. I added enough to cover everything. It turned out great and my husband (who is very big on spices) loved it! We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This stew was the best! My kids even ate it. I followed the recipe but added 1 small(single serving) can of V8 and a can of baby peas before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I have been waiting for the perfect cool fall day to make this recipe...this is comfort at it's BEST! OMG...we LOVED this stew! I omitted the onions (my preference), but otherwise followed the recipe very closely, but added green beans towards the end of the cook time. I served this over some egg noodles and had warm crusty french bread on the side. This stew was so thick and filling - and the leftovers were even better the next day. (side note - when I reheated the stew, I added another can of beef broth to loosen up the stew as it had gotten so thick it was pretty much solid, lol)This is a keeper, for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDI7920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Wow, this is a great base recipe. I omitted the celery, cubed the potatos, added green beans, and a little more seasoning, and the finished product turned out very tasty, and perfect for this chilly fall weather. I served the stew with some homemade french rolls, and dinner was a hit. Thank you for this recipe Margo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyRob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lapel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Excellent. Lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Great recipe but a little bland so I added rosemary, thyme, garlic powder and some beef bouillon granules. I also only added in half the potatoes from the start and then the other half about 30 minutes before it was done, so I would have chunky potato pieces. The thickening mixture of flour and water results in balls of flour in the stew but it does work. It killed the flavor of the stew a bit but just add more spices after that. I also added in a tablespoon of Dijon mustard for kicks as well, along with mushrooms. Instead of boiling onions, I used one regular chopped onion. I'd recommend just adding whatever veggies you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I absolutely loved the recipe. My husband and I (even my picky sister) loved it. I read all the reveiws. I made some changes like some of the reveiws. I added my potatoes the last hour. I added beef bouillon and seasoning salt for added flavor, I used one yellow vidallia onion and one can of beef gravy instead of the flour for thickening. It was great! I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States