Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I added a lot more seasonings to the flour and beef in the bag. I added garlic powder, celery seed, pepper, &salt. I also added 3 bay leaves to the simmering pot. You can add any spices to the floyr to give the a very hdown home flavor. TY for this basic recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I wanted to try a new beef stew recipe so I tried this one. I did not enjoy the taste of this stew while I was making it (a little too bland.) I added two bay leaves and 1/2 bottle of beer to add taste. It did help, but I think I'll stick with my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This was a very easy and tasty stew. I loved the small onions which were so tender and sweet. Instead of cut potatoes, I used small nugget potatoes in their skins which prevents the potatoes from turning to mush while still having the potatoes in small bite size. Thank you for sharing this lovely recipe!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
So...I halved the recipe and used water/bouillon instead of canned broth cuz it was all I had...and I added more liquid than was called for because it made me nervous that everything wasn't submersed. By the time 2 hours was up, the stew was a little bland (which probably had something to do with the extra water I added) so I ended up adding salt (regular and seasoned), pepper, thyme, and garlic powder. I also added some frozen peas, and used red potatoes (skin on). I thought it was a very tasty stew. It honestly wasn't what I was expecting from an "old fashioned" stew, but I'm sure I'll still make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
nice and light, nothing really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I made this for dinner to share with my Mom and Dad and they just called to tell me to rate the recipe 10 stars...5 for Mom and 5 for Dad.Was G_R_E_A_T!!!Did add 1 tsp thyme to my flour for meat and used 1 pack of brown gravy mix to thicken a little and thanks to others left my potatoes cut bigger for some chunks.Good comfort food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Great tasting. This made more than I thought. But the left overs are great. I added some frozen peas near the end of cooking. I'll do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This is our favorite beef stew recipe. I have made it several times. We like lots of veggies in our stew so I add whole kernel corn, green beans and peas. I also add additional flour to coat the beef which makes the gravy a bit thicker. Just the way we like it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Good basic recipe - the only changes I make are to add a bay leaf, 1 tbsp worcestershire sauce, 1 tsp sugar, fresh garlic, mushrooms, turnips and some frozen peas at the end. I have made this both in the slow cooker and on the stove. Always turns out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I agree with the person who said this was a good basic recipe. I also agree that the potatoes need to be cut larger to keep them from falling apart. I substituted red wine for part of the broth and added thyme and salt. I think the people who added bouillon were just looking for more salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States