Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This has become the only recipe I use for beef stew now! It's your classic stew and it's wonderful!! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALLY99
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This is the best beef stew I've ever had! Sometimes beef stew can be kind of bland. I did use most of OLIVERCADO's suggestions (search reviews and sort by most helpful). I used 2 tsp of salt and about 3/4 tsp of pepper. I also added 1 tsp of sage, 2 tsp of parika, and a pinch of dried rosemary to the ziploc bag and tossed the meat in the spices. When cooking the meat, I added 2 tbls of Worchestire sauce. I browned the meat and onions (whole), and put everything (except the potatoes) in my crock pot at 9:00 this morning. Put the meat on bottom of the celery and carrots on top. I threw in the potatoes the last 4 hours. I cooked the stew on low most of the time and high for about an hour or so towards the end. I used all of the beef broth required in the recipe, and it was perfect. I did not add the flour and water at the end. My husband and I truly loved this on a cold winter day. We had cheese biscuits with it (Cheddar Bay Biscuits, also on this site).:-) This is a new favorite! PS. I added a photo because I agree with others that the original picture almost made me not want to make this recipe. It looks like regular beef stew. I hope the updated picture helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
this was pretty good! did a number of changes though. i used 2 TBL olive oil, 1/4 c flour, 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, salt and pepper, 1 tsp paprika. 2 lbs beef chuck, 1 sweet onion, 3 large potatoes, 3 carrots, 9 white mushrooms, 2 cans beef broth, 2 bay leaves, parsley, and a 1/2 tsp thyme, rosemary, and sage. i also added 1/4 cup of merlot and a 1/2 tsp of tomato paste. the meat was very tender, but i would probably add 1 more carrot and more mushrooms. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I agree that the picture displayed of this stew is not appealing at all. The stew needs something to spice it up. it is rather bland as is written. Added some tomato sauce and used either Tiger sauce or Hot pepper sauce to it to spice it up a bit. also, adding 3T flour to thicken is a bit much. Probably could get by with only adding 1 1/2 T of flour if it needs thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
When I first read the recipe, I thought it sounded good, but then saw the photo posted and really wondered if it would be good (photo looked like dog slop). So I pushed the picture to the back of my mind, and proceeded to make the stew. I browned the stew meat in EVOO and then from that point, finished the stew in the slow cooker. I did make some changes, I left out the onions and celery. I also added some Emeril's essence to give the stew some kick, it was very good - almost avoided this one, simply b/c of the picture posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Absolutely wonderful beef stew recipe. Have made it a few times and comes out perfect every time. I buy chuck and cut it up myself. I brown the meat before hand in olive oil instead of vegie oil and wouldn't recommend skipping this step. I think it makes the meat more tender and gives it better flavor. This last time I cooked it for 7 hours in my crock pot. The first 5 were on High with the last 2 on low. I use Minor's Beef base instead of canned stock. I think it has excellent flavor and doesn't taste near as salty as other stocks. I cooked that with the meat for 2 hours and then added chunks of potatoes with the skin on and baby carrots cut in half. I used a yellow onion diced instead of boiling onions. The onions weren't even noticeable and there were big chunks of potatoes as well as small pieces of potatoes since I cut them in various sizes. I did not add the water and flour mixture at the end and my stew always comes out nice and hearty. Makes fabulous left overs! I do not care for beef stews with tomato in it and this stew is perfect! It kind of reminds me of Dinty Moore beef stew, if you have ever had that. Oh, and I also add 3-4 cloves of garlic pressed in my garlic press. YUM!! Thanks for sharing! This is my perfect stew!! Even my oh so very picky eater will eat this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Outstanding! I did this in the crockpot and let it cook on low all day! My kids loved it! I would definitely not add the flour and water together at the end to thicken it though. I took some of the broth in a small bowl, added the flour and mixed until the flour made a rue and then added it to the stew to cook for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
didn't have much flavor, had to add worchestire sauce, and still needed something, family liked it though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Great basic stew recipe, however your only half way there when you are done. Definitely add bravy mix to give more flavor and definitely add about a cup of tomato sauce. About 6 tb of sugar and some salt to taste. Throw some tobasco in there for kick and you have an awesome rich tasting stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montessorihouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greystones, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
this recipe is delicious. I used parsnips instead of potatoes, and I also exempted the celery. My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by down2earthtami

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States