Angel's Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
When I first read the recipe, I thought it sounded good, but then saw the photo posted and really wondered if it would be good (photo looked like dog slop). So I pushed the picture to the back of my mind, and proceeded to make the stew. I browned the stew meat in EVOO and then from that point, finished the stew in the slow cooker. I did make some changes, I left out the onions and celery. I also added some Emeril's essence to give the stew some kick, it was very good - almost avoided this one, simply b/c of the picture posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Absolutely wonderful beef stew recipe. Have made it a few times and comes out perfect every time. I buy chuck and cut it up myself. I brown the meat before hand in olive oil instead of vegie oil and wouldn't recommend skipping this step. I think it makes the meat more tender and gives it better flavor. This last time I cooked it for 7 hours in my crock pot. The first 5 were on High with the last 2 on low. I use Minor's Beef base instead of canned stock. I think it has excellent flavor and doesn't taste near as salty as other stocks. I cooked that with the meat for 2 hours and then added chunks of potatoes with the skin on and baby carrots cut in half. I used a yellow onion diced instead of boiling onions. The onions weren't even noticeable and there were big chunks of potatoes as well as small pieces of potatoes since I cut them in various sizes. I did not add the water and flour mixture at the end and my stew always comes out nice and hearty. Makes fabulous left overs! I do not care for beef stews with tomato in it and this stew is perfect! It kind of reminds me of Dinty Moore beef stew, if you have ever had that. Oh, and I also add 3-4 cloves of garlic pressed in my garlic press. YUM!! Thanks for sharing! This is my perfect stew!! Even my oh so very picky eater will eat this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Outstanding! I did this in the crockpot and let it cook on low all day! My kids loved it! I would definitely not add the flour and water together at the end to thicken it though. I took some of the broth in a small bowl, added the flour and mixed until the flour made a rue and then added it to the stew to cook for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
didn't have much flavor, had to add worchestire sauce, and still needed something, family liked it though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Great basic stew recipe, however your only half way there when you are done. Definitely add bravy mix to give more flavor and definitely add about a cup of tomato sauce. About 6 tb of sugar and some salt to taste. Throw some tobasco in there for kick and you have an awesome rich tasting stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montessorihouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greystones, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
this recipe is delicious. I used parsnips instead of potatoes, and I also exempted the celery. My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by down2earthtami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
My all time favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was superb! Even my normally picky children gobbled this up! Perfect for a cold rainy day! Very Easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Readstown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This was really good. A lot of work but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This was the best beef stew I have ever had!! However, I added a splash of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States