Angel's Chunky Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I only gave this three stars, because while this is good with some modifications, if you follow the directions exactly it's not really worth eating. The first thing you need to do is add more mayonaise--three tablespoons just isn't enough to make it creamy. I also used sweet pickle relish instead of the dill pickles. The sweet pickle relish mixes better, adding consistency and flavor throughout the salad. I would suggest adding the ingredients to your own tastes, and not following the suggested amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Very good "basic" chicken salad that you can but in your own additions based on your tastes. I made this for my husband to take to work, so no additions needed. I used a bit more mayo and used a bit of onion powder vs. onion. And, like others I used sweet pickle relish vs. chopping dill pickles. I put this into a tortilla along with some lettuce, tomato and a couple of slices of bacon for a really good wrap sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I made this chicken salad again, this time for a wedding shower. I used Kraft Real Mayonnaise, Vlassic Baby Dills, and ONE yellow onion in the recipe. I used my food processor to chop all the ingredients and spread the chicken salad on wheat hoagie buns (cut them into 5ths). Every lady at the shower has asked for this recipe and what exact ingredients (BRANDS) I used. I made sure they all knew I only used one large yellow onion and not 6 onions like the recipe called for in the scaled to 50 version. It was the hit of the shower as far as the food selection. EVERY sandwich was eaten! I scaled the recipe for 50 servings and spread generous amounts on each hoagie bun then cut the sandwiches into 5 servings per bun. This is by far the BEST and most easy, tasty chicken salad I have ever made or tasted. I highly recommend using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
For those of us who are obsessed with celery, dill pickles and chicken, this is the dish for us! My family totally loved this one, but not as much as I did. And Angel, 3T of mayo is just perfect for a small chicken breast or two small halves. I didn't change a thing, except I didn't want to deal with a half chicken breast so I used it all (but it was small).I also used red onion for color. Your measurements are perfect! This is a keeper. We loved the subtle taste that the dill pickle and onion provided. For those of us who love savory over sweet meat and poultry dishes, this is a definite keeper.I served on a bed of red leaf lettuce and garnished with thin rings of red onion. YUM! Thanks Angel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
This was easy and surprisingly good.I wasn't sure about the pickle. I altered the amounts a bit will keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Basically the same recipe I've used for many years. For a change, you may wish to use sweet pickles or bread&butter pickles. Chopped green onion can be milder than regular onion and, of course, the amount of mayo will vary according to the size of the chicken breast. Also, don't be shy to add some leg or thigh meat to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Ohhh yahhh!!! Not sure how much chicken I used (made a roast chicken earlier in the week and used the left overs), roughly 2-3 cups. I used 2 celery stalks, 4-5 Tbsp Miracle Whip (to account for the extra chicken), 1/4 cup sweet onion, 2 dill pickles, 1/4 tsp garlic powder and salt and pepper to taste. I chopped everything really tiny just because I like it that way. It lets you get a little of everything in each bite. I LOVED IT!!! I asked my husband if he liked it and he said, "it's oniony". As other reviews stated, I guess it's a matter of personal taste. It was super quick, super easy, and super good. We had it with Chicken Ramen Noodles. Nice, easy meal, almost no clean up. I'll make this with all my leftover chicken.T hanks Angel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missi.spirito

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
You're an Angel. Toasted chicken salad sandwiches and a bottle of light beer is my favorite lunch. The ingredients don't overpower the chicken itself. I'm a big fan. This one is in my recipe box. An emphatic thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Thought this was very good. I used all ingredients listed but used less onion and more dill pickle. (See photo) All I can say is yum! Thanks Angel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This chicken salad was very good. I don't eat celery, so, I did not add it. I did add, however, about a 1/2 tsp. of dijon mustard and a little extra pepper, let it sit in the fridge for about an hour and toasted up some bread. It had a very good consitancy and was very pleasing..thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States