Angela's Awesome Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
First of all read through numerous reviews and through my own experience with cooking i decided to use chicken breasts (2lb) and I put the chicken (sometimes I even use frozen-solid breasts or thighs) in a crockpot with the taco seasoning, garlic powder, onion powder, chili powder, chopped onion + a 1/4 cup water. Then the chicken is easily shredded (as usual crock pot meats mmmm) and I add 1/2 tsp cumin and two fair sized organic fresh garlic cloves with Med chopped onion and half cup med salsa and hint of extra fresh squeezed lime juice of one lime (other then required in recipe) 4hrs in. Let simmer on low for 6 hours and check to see if not overdone (not dry). filling rest of ingredients to the crock pot and stir it up. Then I just assemble per the directions. I also make my own enchileda sauce see link below: http://www.budgetbytes.com/2012/08/red-enchilada-sauce/ lightly toasted (flour) tortillas before wrapping them and poppng in oven to prevent to soft shells. Topped with shredded cheese and green onions and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Great recipe. Very TexMex. Some changes and suggestions: I didn't have green chiles, so I substituted a jalapeno (no seeds - sauteed with onions) and about 6 or 7 tablespoons of tomatillo sauce. I also subbed 4-cheese shredded mixture for Cheddar. Really, really nice results. BUT. It was really too rich for our tastes. Next time I will cut the soup and sour cream mixture in half and only use it in the blended meat (not on the bottom of the pan -- use enchilada sauce instead). I'm going to use the blended recipe for tacos or burritos soon. Excellent recipe. Thanks, Angela.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Loved these! Our new family favorite and there's even enough for my family of 6!!! To easily shred the chicken, drop it in your stand mixer after cooking and turn it on low. In a few minutes, it will be done!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Fab, fixing it again tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was my first time making enchiladas, and I did my own spin on both the original recipe and the changes that other people made and this was THE BEST DISH it was universally loved by both my family AND my co-workers (I brought some in for them and they LOVED IT!) I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Over all its not a bad tasting recipe. I read a lot of the reviews and try as I may to limit the liquids it still came out like a casserole. I tried both corn and flour tortillas, corn is the way to go. Instead of water I used the reserved stock from boiling the chicken. 1/2 the sour cream and 1/2 the condensed soup. After chopping and boiling the chicken using your fingers to break up the chicken is faster. I don't think I would make this again too time consuming for what you get( a Ok casserole ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I made this recipe with not previous experience in the Enchilada department at all. They turned out great. Took some time but it was worth it. This enchiladas are massive, but very rich in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This recipe is GREAT! My family loved it!! I followed the directions exact except I added extra cheese (you can NEVER have too much cheese!) and I used lemon juice instead of lime bc I didn't have lemon on hand. At first, when I first saw this recipe I was a bit overwhelmed bc I am not exactly a Betty Crocker! BUT, I surprised myself because it ended up fabulous! I will definitely be making again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I didn't have lime juice but otherwise, made this as the recipe stated (I DID use leftover chicken off the grill). EXCELLENT! Thanks! This is now my go to recipe for all chicken leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMI13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Omg these were soooo good! I made mine with corn tortillas so they would be healthier, and my family devoured them. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States