Angela's Awesome Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Really was awesome!! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Quinn Melvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I've made this so many times, and they are so so sooo good! I get requests all the time to make enchiladas hahaha. A few things, I use about 10(taco sized)tortillas, 5 isn't nearly enough and they would be way to big. I also use reduced fat cream of chicken soup, and the last time I made it I used greek gods nonfat plain yogurt in place of sour cream, and it worked beautifully. I also add a minced garlic clove or 2 to the sauteing onion, and skip the onion and garlic powder. This recipe is easy to adjust to whats on hand, I often forget green onion and olives, while they are missed its still delicious. I've made it without the cream of chicken and sour cream when having guests who couldn't eat those things and it was still very good. I usually use a 7oz can of chillies instead of the 4oz because I like them, and to serve I top with pickled jalapenos, sour cream(greek yogurt)and guacamole if I have any avocados. ALSO! I love making a batch of the chicken mixture, then separating it into freezer bags and then when I want a quick easy meal? Pull out a bag, trow it in some tortillas with cheese and enchilada sauce, enchiladas ready for the oven in under 5 minutes, can't beat that. The mix is also good on nachos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
These were very tasty, but I messed up the whole kitchen making them. I did a few things differently but since I used bone in chick breasts it would have been nice to do that the day before. I also used the broth from the chicken instead of the water in the recipe. I also used my own enchilada sauce recipe because I wasn't sure of a good brand. We don't have the one some reviewers mentioned. After eating these, you won't be hungry for a long time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Yes. It was delicious. I tweeked the recipe a little bit by adding my enchilada sauce into the cream of mushroom and sour cream to give it a little more flavor. five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginaflute

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I'll give this a 2 star because I liked the filling. The rest was just tortilla goo. 5 tortillas? More like 2 pans of 9x13. Fortunately, there was a lot of filling left over for another try. I don't have any soup mixture left so I will roll the filling and bake without the enchilada sauce for 20 minutes and then add the enchilada sauce and cheese and bake for another 5 or so. I'll let you know how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I have made this recipe many times now. The most recent time I omitted the cream of chicken soup (didn't have any on hand), and layered the tortillas, chicken mix and cheese and topped with enchilada sauce to make more of a mexican lasagna. My family preferred this method as it was simply easier to prepare and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is a truly awesome recipe, and the changes I made are mostly about personal taste. First, use more smaller tortillas and place them the other direction in the pan. Secondly, I added a 14.5 oz. can each of drained kernel corn and black beans to the chicken mixture to add a little counterpoint to the heavy creaminess of the soup/sour cream. Lastly, I made green enchilada sauce because I haven't found a good canned one. 1/2 C diced onion and 3 pressed garlic cloves sautéed in 2 T oil. Add 3T flour, 1 1/2 C chicken broth, 2 4 0z. cans diced green chiles, 1 seeded and minced jalapeno, 1/4 t each of cumin and oregano, salt and pepper to taste. Simmer 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Since this is what I had on hand, I used a mix of pepper jack cheese with cheddar, and not the full amount. I started with a rotisserie chicken from Costco, skinned and removed bones. Shredded the chicken with a HAND MIXER :-) I'm gluten intolerant so I used corn tortillas and GF cream of chicken soup. This is a keeper and would be a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I actually haven't made this recipe yet, but I've made very similar. Ditto Jen - chicken in crock pot practically shreds itself. I usually dump a small jar of salsa in the pot (love salsa Verde.) No need for the taco seasoning because the salsa flavor comes through beautifully and you are greatly cutting sodium. Season to taste after it's cooked. Fresh cilantro would make it so fresh and bold tasting. I mince a whole bunch of out, stems and all, and stir in at the end of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I hardly need to leave this review as it seems most everyone agrees. I made it a week ago as per directions above, and my family loved it--and that includes a VERY picky seven-year-old who normally won't eat anything I make without loss of privileges. While I might make a few changes here and there depending on what's available locally seasonally (green onions, addition of other veggies, etc.) at some point, the recipe was great as stands. Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States