Angela's Awesome Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
My husband is from Arizona and he said these are 10 out of 10, his favorite thing I make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This will knock your socks off!! I've never made non-traditional Mexican enchiladas with flour tortillas. I used the usual corn tortillas. I tried to follow this recipe to the T so I didn't fry the tortillas in oil first. That should definitely make a difference next time since they seemed to dry out a bit. Adding extra enchilada sauce while baking helped to keep them moist. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I loved these and they made excellent leftovers. I have subbed low carb tortillas and they still come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I am not a terribly experienced cook, and I have come to realize that my food is not ever going to be very pretty. That being said, sometimes I simplify recipes to make them easier for me to assemble. In this case, I cooked the chicken, spices, peppers, and onions all day in the slow cooker. I made the cream sauce and put some in the bottom of my baking dish. I drained the liquid from the slow cooked chicken/spice/veggie mixture, then put it in my Kitchen Aid stand mixer to shred. I added the remaining cream sauce and cheese shreds into the mixer as well. No, it was not pretty, but it was much less messy to wrangle into tortillas and then into the baking dish. Once baked with red sauce and more cheese, they didn't look too ugly. I had more compliments on them than most dishes I've cooked for the family, and it was so easy to prepare. I am making another batch today - one day after I made my first batch. They were that popular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Amazing recipe. I changed something's to make it easier for me and to my own taste but had so many compliments! Friends are still talking about my enchilada's weeks later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I've made these a few times for my family and they loved it! Unfortunately, I can't make them that often due to the high carb count because my husband is diabetic. Other than changing out the flour tortillas to a low carb version, is there anything else that can be done to lower the carb count?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim E Motyka
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I have never made enchiladas before - these turned out awesome!! My husband who grew up in a mexican town says they are REALLY good - not very authentic tasting, but he told me this recipe was a keeper. The only reason i'm giving it 4 stars is because I don't think it would have been nearly as good if I wouldn't have made some changes: I doubled the recipe (mostly) - In a crockpot on high for 4 hrs i added water, packet of taco seasoning, 1 lb ground beef and 3 chicken breasts, along with dried pequin, serrano, and guajillo chiles. Instead of just sautéing onion (used 3/4 of a red onion) - I also threw in 4 jalapeños, 1/2 green bell pepper, 3 garlic cloves, more of the pepper blend along with cumin, chili powder, oregano, paprika, blk peppercorns, and salt. I only used 1 bunch of green onions & 1 cup of water total for the recipe. The milk mixture - I used a little less sour cream, and 1 full tsp Chili Powder along with some spices listed above. I didn't measure out the cheese, just put on whatever. They turned out great - just the right amount of spice and will definitely be making them again. I froze 3/4 of them - so hopefully they will turn out good when unthawed and reheated! Next time I will add the rest of the 28oz can of enchilada sauce (I only used 2/3 this time) and will stick with the same green chilis- 505 brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim E Motyka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
These are wonderful. I used my favorite brand of vegetarian chicken substitute and it was fantastic. Will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This recipe is a definite crowd pleaser. It makes a lot and I was afraid he leftovers wouldn't keep well, but was I wrong! My boyfriend and i had meals for the entire week. I also added the chicken to the crock pot with garlic and onion powder, chili powder, the onion, taco seasoning, and water. I put it in the crock pot in the morning and when everyone was hungry (which varies at my house) I could assemble and get them on the table quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessboat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States