Angela's Awesome Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I love this recipe! I have made some changes that make it easier for me on a weeknight: I put the chicken (sometimes I even use frozen-solid breasts or thighs) in a crockpot with the taco seasoning, garlic powder, onion powder, chili powder, chopped onion + a little water in the morning. Then when I get home from work the chicken is easily shredded and I add the other filling ingredients to the crock pot and stir it up. Then I just assemble per the directions. I also use green sauce instead of red. This way it only takes 15min to get them in the oven and the meat tastes great from simmering all day in the spices. Thanks Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1521 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Uhrlaub

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I don't care for the rating system on this site. There are so many bad recipes that get 2 or 3 stars, that the 5 star rating doesn't due this recipe justice. These are the best enchiladas I have ever tasted, and my entire family agrees. I have used over 100 recipes from this site, and this is one of the few that is a true 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
806 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
These are without a doubt THE BEST Chicken Enchiladas I have ever eaten.It makes a HUGE batch. My only suggestion is to keep the breasts whole while simmering in water (it makes them easier to shred).This is the only enchilada recipe I will ever use .Thanks Angela!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
414 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Linn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Very good recipe - I would suggest grilling the chicken breasts on the gas grill instead of poaching them to give them a deeper flavor. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of ground cumin and 1/2 cup of salsa to the chicken mixture to take it up a notch. If you have a gas stove, place the tortillas on the burner of the stove for about 20 seconds to gently char them before filling and rolling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Wesserling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Really, really good! You may THINK you don't have enough liquid while the mixture is simmering, but you will be wrong. These were addictive. Hint: If you want to save time, you can pick apart a rotisserie chicken instead of shredding breasts, but shredding the meat really isn't as time-consuming as I thought it would be (about 10 minutes). I also used double the enchilada sauce because I like to have extra, that was personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Very good! I made a lower fat version by using non-fat sour cream and reduced fat cream of chicken soup. Also, I added some salsa, extra lime juice, and garlic powder to the soup/sour cream mixture. I like mine extra saucy so I also made sure to double the soup/sour cream mixture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happywife05
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
The enchilada filling was outstanding!!! But, make sure you use a good enchilada sauce, otherwise it will overpower the delicate chicken flavors. All in all, a great dish! UPDATE: I made just the filling (without the sour cream/cream of chicken soup/chili powder) for burritos, and they were AMAZING!!! Quick way to get the great flavor of this dish without having to go through all the steps of enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was very good, as is. But with a few minor changes, you can make this in a LOT less time (and less dishes!). As another reviewer mentioned, I placed the frozen chicken breasts in a crock pot on low with chili powder, onion, taco seasoning, garlic powder and onion powder. That evening I shredded the chicken inside the crock pot in under 2 minutes, added the green chilies, and lime juice. In a separate bowl I mixed the cream of chicken, sour cream and more chili powder. I omitted the butter all together saving calories, and it won't be missed. Then I layered half the cream sauce on the bottom of the 9x13 inch pan and mixed the rest into the chicken mixture still in the crock pot. Then I placed a layer of tortillas (I used corn) in the pan, followed by the entire chicken mixture, cheese, another layer of tortillas, enchilada sauce, cheese, and olives. Prep time for the entire meal was 10 minutes. Trust me, you won't be disappointed! Next time I will use green enchilada sauce (personal preference for chicken.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This was incredible...everyone loved it! Oh, and I realized when I got home from the store that I forgot cream of chicken soup....so I consulted the interwebs and ended up with a great recipe to remedy that exact problem: I put three tablespoons of butter in a small pan, let it get nice and hot, whisked into it one or one and a half tablespoons of flour until it formed a nice roux....then I whisked in a half cup of chicken broth and a half cup of milk...and this made, to my surprise...an EXACT replica (except better) of campbells cream of chicken soup. It was so good, that I can honestly say I will quickly whip that together any time I find a recipe that calls for cream of chicken soup. These enchiladas were super, super good. I LOVE enchiladas and these totally hit the spot and were exactly what you think of in your head, when you say to yourself "man, I'd love some enchiladas!"...GO FOR IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchengal

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
These were incredible! The only change I made was to leave out the green onions with the chicken mixture. They already had onions in them, so I figured adding them on top was good enough--and it was! Also, I made my own enchilada sauce (given 5 stars on this site). This dish was a huge hit, and will definitely be my "go-to" enchilada recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDIFSK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States