Angela's Awesome Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Since this is what I had on hand, I used a mix of pepper jack cheese with cheddar, and not the full amount. I started with a rotisserie chicken from Costco, skinned and removed bones. Shredded the chicken with a HAND MIXER :-) I'm gluten intolerant so I used corn tortillas and GF cream of chicken soup. This is a keeper and would be a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I actually haven't made this recipe yet, but I've made very similar. Ditto Jen - chicken in crock pot practically shreds itself. I usually dump a small jar of salsa in the pot (love salsa Verde.) No need for the taco seasoning because the salsa flavor comes through beautifully and you are greatly cutting sodium. Season to taste after it's cooked. Fresh cilantro would make it so fresh and bold tasting. I mince a whole bunch of out, stems and all, and stir in at the end of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I hardly need to leave this review as it seems most everyone agrees. I made it a week ago as per directions above, and my family loved it--and that includes a VERY picky seven-year-old who normally won't eat anything I make without loss of privileges. While I might make a few changes here and there depending on what's available locally seasonally (green onions, addition of other veggies, etc.) at some point, the recipe was great as stands. Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
When my picky 10 yr old tells me he "loves" it then it gets 5 stars. It is wonderful, easy to make and makes great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
These are fantastic. I will be making again. Just next time will use less cheese. I'm a cheese guy but these are so good even w/o cheese I don't want to use much at all. I didn't have room for the 5th one in my pan cuz I'm bad at rolling them lol so I just ate the 5th one as was and it was divine. I only did one thing different. I happened to cook the chicken that day, 6 hours in slow cooker on low with some taco seasoning, but all I did differently was in step 2 instead of the water to mix in with the chicken and onions, I used some of the broth from cooking the chicken. Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Dima

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Family loved it! Used cream of mushroom, instead of cream of chicken. Didn't use green onions or onion powder, because I didn't have any. I didn't put the soup mixture on the bottom of the pan. I ended up mixing the entire soup mixture into the chicken mixture. I warmed up the tortillas a bit on a gas stove before filling them. I doubled the recipe to fill 20 six inch tortillas and still had plenty of sauce leftover. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
These are awesome!! I get compliments every time I make them. I did make it my own by adding and pureeing cilantro, jalapeno peppers, and green onions in the enchiladas not on (hubby wont eat vegetables. I have to hide them) I used Emerils red enchilada sauce recipe also adding cilantro and jalapeno. I pop leftover sauce in freezer for next time. My great aunt says these taste just like the ones at her favorite Mexican restaurant in Texas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I've made this recipe for years with one basic change that doesn't altar the flavor, but makes it much quicker to put together. I put a small amount of soup mixture in the bottom of the dish and then layer the tortillas and chicken mixture. Another time saving tip is to make enough of the cooked chicken on a different night to have extra to make this dish. I usually do a broccoli/chicken dish on one night and have enough reserved chicken to use for this a day or so later in the week. j
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
So good, they should be illegal! Have made this twice in past 2 weeks, plan on making it again soon. Only change I made was I put the chicken in a slow cooker with the onions and taco season for 5 hours, and when I pulled it out, it shreded on its own. Being lazy, this made it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,516) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States