Angela's Awesome Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Kim E Motyka
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I have never made enchiladas before - these turned out awesome!! My husband who grew up in a mexican town says they are REALLY good - not very authentic tasting, but he told me this recipe was a keeper. The only reason i'm giving it 4 stars is because I don't think it would have been nearly as good if I wouldn't have made some changes: I doubled the recipe (mostly) - In a crockpot on high for 4 hrs i added water, packet of taco seasoning, 1 lb ground beef and 3 chicken breasts, along with dried pequin, serrano, and guajillo chiles. Instead of just sautéing onion (used 3/4 of a red onion) - I also threw in 4 jalapeños, 1/2 green bell pepper, 3 garlic cloves, more of the pepper blend along with cumin, chili powder, oregano, paprika, blk peppercorns, and salt. I only used 1 bunch of green onions & 1 cup of water total for the recipe. The milk mixture - I used a little less sour cream, and 1 full tsp Chili Powder along with some spices listed above. I didn't measure out the cheese, just put on whatever. They turned out great - just the right amount of spice and will definitely be making them again. I froze 3/4 of them - so hopefully they will turn out good when unthawed and reheated! Next time I will add the rest of the 28oz can of enchilada sauce (I only used 2/3 this time) and will stick with the same green chilis- 505 brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim E Motyka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
These are wonderful. I used my favorite brand of vegetarian chicken substitute and it was fantastic. Will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This recipe is a definite crowd pleaser. It makes a lot and I was afraid he leftovers wouldn't keep well, but was I wrong! My boyfriend and i had meals for the entire week. I also added the chicken to the crock pot with garlic and onion powder, chili powder, the onion, taco seasoning, and water. I put it in the crock pot in the morning and when everyone was hungry (which varies at my house) I could assemble and get them on the table quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessboat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I made the all day version in the slow cooker for the chicken but followed the rest of this to the T, WOW what a great dinner my whole family loved it and asked for more, I will proudly make this recipe again. Thank you all for the comments and tips to make all these recipes better or a tad easier to make after work and MomsavedbyGrace should get a culinary medal for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrow, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
best enchiladas ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written and it turned out delicious. Everyone in the family loved them and my wife's aunt, who was visiting, said that they were the best enchiladas that she had ever had and demanded the recipe. You'll definitely like this easy, tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
First of all read through numerous reviews and through my own experience with cooking i decided to use chicken breasts (2lb) and I put the chicken (sometimes I even use frozen-solid breasts or thighs) in a crockpot with the taco seasoning, garlic powder, onion powder, chili powder, chopped onion + a 1/4 cup water. Then the chicken is easily shredded (as usual crock pot meats mmmm) and I add 1/2 tsp cumin and two fair sized organic fresh garlic cloves with Med chopped onion and half cup med salsa and hint of extra fresh squeezed lime juice of one lime (other then required in recipe) 4hrs in. Let simmer on low for 6 hours and check to see if not overdone (not dry). filling rest of ingredients to the crock pot and stir it up. Then I just assemble per the directions. Lightly toasted (flour) tortillas before wrapping them and poppng in oven to prevent to soft shells. Topped with shredded cheese and green onions and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Great recipe. Very TexMex. Some changes and suggestions: I didn't have green chiles, so I substituted a jalapeno (no seeds - sauteed with onions) and about 6 or 7 tablespoons of tomatillo sauce. I also subbed 4-cheese shredded mixture for Cheddar. Really, really nice results. BUT. It was really too rich for our tastes. Next time I will cut the soup and sour cream mixture in half and only use it in the blended meat (not on the bottom of the pan -- use enchilada sauce instead). I'm going to use the blended recipe for tacos or burritos soon. Excellent recipe. Thanks, Angela.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Loved these! Our new family favorite and there's even enough for my family of 6!!! To easily shred the chicken, drop it in your stand mixer after cooking and turn it on low. In a few minutes, it will be done!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,533) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States