Angel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I've made this pie for my dad on numurous occasions. He LOVES it! I've nade it substituting the lemon for orange as well. He doesn't know which is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
REally easy and delicious! I didn't need all the calories and cholesterol, so I used a small container of LITE Cool Whip in place of the whipped cream. It was perfect! In addition, I used two whole eggs and one extra egg white and 3/4 sugar and 1/4 Splenda to make the lemon filling. I probably added a little more lemon because we have an over productive lemon tree and we love anything lemon. I then put the other half of the cool whip on the top decoratively with a spatula, and Voila! A genuine winner! I ended up having to print 2 more recipes to give to our guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This pie has been a thanksgiving favorite in my family for almost 50 years - the recipe used to be printed on Crystal Sugar sacks. Make sure that you use either the cream of tartar or a 1/2 tsp vinegar, otherwise the shell will not crack and firm up like it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marimarbella
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I have made this pie at least 25 times now. Very easy to make although a bit of a time consuming recipe (leting it cool in the oven) I dont mind because the reward is well worth it! I will be using this recipe all sumer long. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marimarbella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This would have gained 5 stars had the meringue not been so "gaggy" sweet. I will cut the sugar amount to 1/2 to 3/4 cup the next time I make it. I followed another reviewer and used 2 cups of heavy cream, 1/4 c. sugar and 1 tsp. vanilla as I wanted more cream for the topping. I also did add a heaping tablespoon of the cream to the lemon curd to help spread it. A very delicious dessert and one I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Cynjne and I actually fought over the last piece of this pie, as we do every time we make it. lol It is that good ! Lemon Meringue pie lovers this is a must try !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is the most delicious dessert I have ever made-light, refreshing, and tangy. If you like lemon desserts, you must try this one! I do add about 1/8 cup of the whippied cream to the curd to make it easier to spread. It doesn't change the flavor or intensity of the filling. I don't think the whipped cream needs any sweetening at all, but DON'T forget to well grease the pan!!! So tasty and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This pie induced much selfishness and ill will. Arguements abounded as family members denied sneaking pieces. This lasted less than a full day as this heavenly dessert vanished that fast. At first bite silence fell over the table as our tastebuds sang with pleasure. I did try to mold the pre-cooked meringue into a shape that would contain the filling. No changes were necessary. When I make this again (probably today) I will try piping the whipped cream topping to make it prettier. This deserves a place of honour in your recipe box. UPDATE: To prevent major war I have resorted to cutting the finished pie in half. His and Mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by CathyW
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is similar to my recipe, but I am all about easy. No need to use a double boiler--just cook the lemon juice, sugar (reduced to 1/3 cup) and egg yolk over medium low heat, whisking constantly until thick. When the lemon curd has completely cooled, fold in 2 stiffly beaten egg whites and 1 (8 oz) container Cool Whip. Pour into meringue shell and refrigerate for at least 4 hours. Then top it with real whipped cream and garnish with lemon peel. This is a great Spring/Summer pie! P.S. Always use a glass pie plate and spray it well with cooking spray before putting in the meringue. This will make serving the pie much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was very good! I sweetened the whipped cream a little with sugar and added some vanilla and it was a perfect balance with the tartness of the lemon. I did make a mistake, and didn't grease the pie plate enough, so the meringue crust stuck horribly! The taste did, however, make up for that little mishap. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States