Angel Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This frosting came out more like marshmallow fluff than anything else. It was tasty, but oh-so-sticky! It was difficult to wrap the cake afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Angle food cake with boiled frosting was a my birthday cake of choice as a child. When the grocery stores took the boxed frosting mix off the shelves my aunt stopped making it for me. Today I celebrated my 40th birthday and my partner made me an angle food cake with this frosting. It looks behaves and tastes exactly like the cake from my childhood. Absolutely the best and thanks to my wife for making me such a sentimental birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Excellent recipe! taste awesome and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This may be the "7 Minute" or "White Mountain" icing", and definitely does take at least 7 minutes to reach the consistency that's needed. It is WONDERFUL on a Devils Food cake, too. You may have problems making the icing if the humidity is high. It's like Devinity. It can be made using the brown sugar, chocolate, cherry, etc., flavors, so check recipe books or online sites. Old cookbooks are a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Amazing! Wonderful! I've had to make two cakes in 3 days just because the family wanted more icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This recipe is quick, tasty, and fat free. At high altitudes a double boiler is not necessary, just don't over cook it or it will harden/dry out faster, keep it covered until ready to use. Any flavoring can be used in place of vanilla, and juice can be used instead of the water for an orange or lemon frosting, using zest in place of the vanilla, also you can stored this frosting in the fridge for at least a week in an air tight container. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My granny used to make this type of icing and I've been looking for a recipe for years. This is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Alabama, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Very Good ... mixer broke half way through so I whisked very fast lol and attempted so it was quite sloppy and not the fault of the recipe it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This is the most incredible frosing I have ever tasted! I am a huge fan of merangue, so this is a real hit. My whole family LOVED it. My 16 year old brother who doesn't cook, wanted me to show him how to make it so he can whip up a batch in case I'm not around. :)Whoever came up with this is brilliant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by confectionary concoctions

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was a little sweet for me, even for icing! Next time I will decrease the corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Campbell John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States