Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
Very good! I doubled the pasta and garlic (8 oz. pasta is not enough for all the tomatoes called for, and the dish needed more flavor), and found that this dish really needed more shrimp (will use 2 lbs. next time). I didn't add oil to the pasta while boiling (simply not necessary), and I used only 1/8 cup oil in the sauce to cut down on the fat. Using fresh herbs is key! If you add the shrimp in Step 2 as written, they will be extremely overcooked. Add them to the finished sauce that is still simmering (along with 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/8 tsp. pepper), and they will cook in 2-3 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
407 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
I made this the other night, and I must say it's the best dish I've made all year. It was HEAVENLY. I used lemon basil and parsley that I grew myself, and added around 1/4 cup of heavy cream and about 2 Tbsp. tomato paste to make a more creamy sauce. I only used one 28 oz. can of tomatoes, and I think next time I'll use three 14 oz. cans. I think I forgot to drain the tomatoes, so it took a bit longer to cook down, but the flavor was incredible. This is an excellent dish for company, and it was just as good reheated the next day. This recipe rocks, Pat! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Pretty good but I have a question - I used 3(15oz)cans of Italian diced tomatoes. The instructions say that they s/b "drained" - but then when it comes time to add the white wine, it says to simmer until liquid is reduced by half. What liquid? When drained and mixed together w/ the wine, there's barely any liquid to begin with. Yes, the tomatoes naturally release a little liquid but when they're drained, its not much. In fact, I added half a can of tomato sauce just so the mix would cover the noodles properly. I understand that maybe this isn't supposed to be a "saucy" recipe but w/out some, it would be really dry. Next time, I'll try it but not drain all the tomatoes. It was still very tasty, which is why I feel the dish is justified to try again. Also, when sauting the garlic, I added a couple TBLS of minced onion and put parmesan over each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Fantastic dish! I added a bit of extra garlic and some red pepper flakes and I left out the white wine because I didn't have any, but this was so good!!! I ate it until I couldn't eat any more, and the leftovers the next day had my coworkers drooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
Well, I usually do not review recipes unless I find one that is really worthy of my time...this one takes the prize! This recipe is sooooo good!!! I used Bucatini instead of Angel Hair, and dried Basil for the fresh (couldn't get fresh here), everything else was the same and it was FANTASTIC! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
This was surprisingly good. I only used 1 28 oz. can of tomatoes and that was plenty. My husband is not a seafood lover and he said he'll eat this again!!!! I forgot to add that I omitted the parsley and substituted fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This recipes is absolutely DELICIOUS and EASY! I also add a little frozen spinach towards the end (so it doesn't cook too long). As a tip, using the frozen or unfrozen raw deveined shrimp from the grocery store is easiest. This has become my "specialty dish" amongst family & friends and I am by far a chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is an excellent shrimp dish! I made half of this recipe last night for Hubs and me, but I went about it a little differently. I began by sautéing the garlic in the oil (using only 1 T. of oil). Then added the tomatoes, wine and parsley, and reduced it by about half. I reserved the liquid from the can of tomatoes, mixed it with a little cornstarch and used it to thicken the sauce. Then I added the raw shrimp and cooked them right in the sauce. I think this is much easier than fishing the shrimp out once cooked and then adding them back to reheat. And since the flavor of basil diminishes as it’s cooked, I always add it at the very end. I think next time I will add 1 T. of butter to the sauce to give it that wonderful silky smoothness. I served this over bow tie pasta, but almost any pasta would work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I thought these were good, but not THAT great, however, my family loved and raved about how wonderful it was, I had to make it again the next night! I also used only one can of tomato and it yielded more than enough sauce and substituted chicken broth for the wine. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I made this last night for dinner and my husband truly enjoyed it! Instead of angel hair pasta, I used tri-color bowties and that was great and I followed the suggestions of the others by using one can of tomoatoes. Definitly a keeper according to my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States