Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
OMG! this pasta was amazing!! (& I am a huge pasta maker & lover) and boy, I did not think it was going to turn out as well as it did! I only used 3 cans of the Italian tomatoes, and put more garlic in the pan with the shrimp than called for, we usually make our shrimp with butter and garlic so I knew that they would turn out great with more garlic. I had never tried the Italian tomatoes, but I think that's what "made" the recipe! the tomatoes were so full of flavor, the pasta went perfectly with bbqed moscato wine chicken and grilled squash veggies! thank so much for sharing this, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
1st; Don't put oil on pasta water(it prevents sauce from sticking to pasta) 2nd; Don't rinse past either(It rinses off the starch for it sauce to adhear also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Added Sautéed onions till transparent in oil, then added the garlic. Added powdered ginger and red pepper to give it extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
One can of tomatoes is enough, or 2, 15oz cans. Always add a small sprinkle of red pepper flakes when you saute the garlic. Turning the shrimp while cooking in garlic and red pepper flakes and olive oil, adding a little of the basil while doing so. Add remaining basil, I use a bit more than called for (love basil), add tomatoes and let flavors meld. 2 or 3 minutes, then add the chilled pasta and re add the shrimp, turn heat to low or off, if good and hot, and let the el' dente pasta soak up the sauce. It should not be too wet. Good Italian pasta sauce is nearly all taken in by the pasta. Serve with the parmesan cheese (Important to always grate your own fresh parmesan) it really does make a difference... a red wine of your choice for pairing. And it is a very very good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
So happy to be an experienced pasta a sauce cook and to also have read other reviews. My 3 stars is based on personal cooking knowledge of how this recipe and ingredients would have turned out had I followed directions. Hope my review is helpful for others because this recipe is not hopeless. 1: One can of tomatoes is more than enough. 2: For those who want more 'flavor' try using Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes instead of Italian. 3: Saute the garlic (I doubled) in the olive oil then add the tomatoes, white wine, parsley and use appropriate amount of dried basil instead of fresh 'or' add the fresh basil just before serving (fresh basil does not hold it's flavor during the cooking process). 4: Use cooked frozen and thawed shrimp (I used cocktail shrimp because that's what I had on hand) but, no matter what size cooked and frozen, do not add to the sauce to heat it until after the sauce has boiled down and just beofre adding the cooked, drained pasta. 5: Cook the pasta while the sauce is cooking down 6: Do not use the oil in the water and do not drain the pasta because the oil keeps the sauce from sticking to the pasta and the starch from not draining helps the sauce to stick to the pasta better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is a great base recipe. To add depth of flavor, before sauteeing the garlic, I lightly seasoned the shrimp with a Mediterranean seasoning. I used nearly 3 times the amount of fresh garlic and sautéed it in olive oil that had been infused with red pepper flakes (can be found in specialty stores or you can make your own by pouring good olive oil over a generous amount of red pepper flakes in a glass cruet and letting it sit). I believe the recipe imparts more flavor by following the steps and simmering the wine/herb/tomato mixture separately from the shrimp but for a longer time than directed by the recipe. I used 2 times the amount of wine, 2 drained 14.5 oz cans of Italian diced tomatoes and 1 undrained 14.5 oz can, fresh basil and parsley. Very nice, especially with crusty Italian bread, a salad and wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Fantastic!! My family loved this dish. I served it with a spinach salad with strawberries, toasted pecans and balsamic vinaigrette dressing. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by formic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I really loved this recipe. I used my homemade canned spaghetti sauce rather than the Italian diced tomatoes. I let it simmer for longer than what the recipe called for- anyone want my homemade canned spaghetti recipe let me know!! Thanks for this great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
pretty tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
The ingredients look basic but this dish is very flavorful and delicious. I would reduce the pepper flakes by 1/2 next time. It will still carry the zing and spirit of the recipe, but it won't be overly spicy to the point where it interferes with the flavor by numbing your taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allen Kozlowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 749) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States