Angel Hair Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
When making this recipe I definitely took the other reviewers advice. I used the packet of Ranch Dressing instead of the bottled Ranch Dressing and it turned out great. I didn't add the milk to the powdered Ranch Dressing recipe as it calls for since I didn't have the 30 minutes to allow for it to thicken. I just added the Mayo to the powdered Ranch Dressing. I did add both red and yellow sweet bell peppers and cucumbers. I also took the suggestion of fresh dill. It gave it the extra bit of flavor that had everyone going back for seconds. I used the bow tie noodles as several suggested and was the perfect consistency and texture. I would next time add two/three cans of baby shrimps instead of just the one. As the baby shrimps did get hardly noticed. I also added a bit of lemon juice for flavor and I would defiantly make this again as it was very easy to do on short time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrauPohl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
So bland!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is a great 'foundation' recipe. I took advice from others and used bow-tie pasta, caesar dressing, 1/2 cup EVOO, 1 tomato and 1/2 cucumber. Sprinkled 1 tbsp of Bay Seasoning. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
tried this last wk, as i was loking for other pasta ideas. was okay, but all the stuff like peppers, shrimp & green onions sank to the bottom-just slipped thru the angel hair. guess i'll stick w/ rotini or shells for my pasta salads, tho i imagine it would be great warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Wonderful, fresh dish (considering I didn't have shrimp or ranch dressing.) I used bleu cheese dressing and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ayk

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I made this recipe for my twins' graduation and it was a big hit. I substituted imitation crab meat for the shrimp. Not only was it a great hit, but was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I left out the shrimp. It was very good . I do not eat meat. This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I made this recipe for a Baby Shower serving 30-40 people, and I got numerous requests for the recipe! I used Litehouse ranch, and used the advice of other reviewers and added tomato and cucumber. I didn't add extra shrimp as other suggested, but I would suggest that. The 3rd time I made this, I used a different ranch and I did not like it at all! So the type of ranch you use definitely affects the flavor. I've tried this dish right after making, and it really is best after it's sat in the refrigerator overnight. There really is more flavor, and it gives the noodles a chance to absorb the ranch. Some people say it tastes slimy; this is true if you try it right after mixing--the ranch hasn't had a chance to "condense" with the noodles. Definitely very easy and very delicious! I can see this working well with bacon or chicken instead of shrimp. For a large group its supereasy to increase portions accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I add feta cheese, tomatoes and olives! Delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This recipe was pretty delicious - I added a little more salt and black pepper because my ranch dressing seemed a little bland, and voila! Also added chopped tomatoes and cucumbers, as well as a bunch of fresh dill, which made it taste even more refreshing. Great salad. There were no leftovers from a doubled recipe (it was a side dish at a 5 person dinner). p.s. - i sauteed my shrimp with a little butter, garlic, and lemon juice to make it more flavorful. UPDATE: I now make this salad the following way: Salad ingredients include 1 lb of any type of pasta, 1 lb shrimp, 2-3 tomatoes, 2 cucumbers, bunch of green onions. Dressing includes 1.5 cups lowfat plain yogurt, 1 tbsp mayonnaise, dry ranch salad dressing mix, to taste, 2-3 cloves garlic, chopped fresh parsley, chopped dill. Prepared this way, it's the most amazing and refreshing seafood salad you will have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States