Angel Food Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
This was so easy to make and fast. They are great with strawberries or chocolate frosting. My kids just loved them. They are also good just plain. If your dieting this is the way to go NO FAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
These are very good but I had to make a few changes. First of all, I could only find a 16 oz box of angel food cake mix made by Betty Crocker and while the box amount is less than the recipe requires, the mix made 29 cupcakes....not 12! One of the reviewers had suggested to fill the cupcake holders all the way full so make a bigger cupcake. I don't recommend this. I did it with my first batch and it was too much cake mix. The tops of the cupcakes ballooned out and ran into each other. I had to use a knife to seperate them from each other and then had to chisel the cupcakes off the muffin pan to get them out. The rest I filled at 3/4 full and they turned out perfect. Bigger than the 2/3 suggested in the recipe but smaller than filling them all the way and I had no problem getting them out of the muffin pan. I do agree with the same reviewer on having the oven set at 350 degrees instead of 375 and I found I didn't have to add an extra 5 minutes. I do know that oven temps can vary from oven to oven. On my oven, 15 minutes was perfect. So in summary, this is what I did..... Used a 16 oz box cake mix which made way more cupcakes than the recipe says it will. (Plus if I had filled all of the cupcake paper wrappers 3/4 of the way full I would have gotten even more!) Fill them 3/4 of the way full and bake at 350° for 15 minutes. Makes 2 to 3 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
585 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This is truely the greatest recipe of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cory R. King

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I give this recipe 3 stars only because it didn't give me a lot to work with. I used betty crocker angel food mix, and the box had a cupcake recipe on the side. For starters, this recipe was very vague. The box says to beat together the mix with 1 1/4 cups COLD water. I filled the cups 3/4 full and they came out fine. My first batch was a lot smaller because i didnt want the cupcakes to overflow. The box also says to keep the batter refridgerated between baking. I baked for about 14 minutes until the tops were golden. It made about 30 good sized cup cakes for me. I frosted with coolwhip. A lot of variations can be made with this recipe - Use could add mandarin orange segments and substitute half the water for the liguid in the can. You could add many extracts and food coloring to create a tie-dye effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Very yummy! I put homemade buttercream frosting on, this made is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
These are great but I had to watch them closely because the first batch got real brown. Also, I think these would be better in a jumbo muffin tin because you end up with a TON of them if you use a regular muffin tin. The batter goes a long way and we had cupcakes galore! I also topped them with strawberry frosting and added colored sprinkles for my little one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I honestly never thought of making cupcakes using angel food cake mix. I needed a quickie dessert for this weekend but I don't like to bake, so this was right up my alley. I used three different frostings and topped with sprinkles. YUM Gail and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
These were good. I was looking for a low-fat dessert, so I made these and topped them with fat free cool whip and lite cherry pie filling (3 cherries on each cupcake). They look pretty, taste good, and are still low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seahawk07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Perfect for a sweet, but low-fat dessert. I added 2 tsp of almond extract to the batter and topped with just a little vanilla icing when cooled. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTONSHIU97

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States