Angel Food Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is by far the best sponge toffee recipe I have made. Only hint is to sift the baking soda first so there are no lumps in the sponge. I doubled the recipe and got 2 1/2 pounds of weight after dipping in dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I grew up in Wisconsin where this candy was available everywhere, even gas stations around the holidays. After moving to Tulsa, I couldn't find these anywhere. I was nervous to make these but after doing so...I will be sure to make these every holiday season. I never knew it was so easy!!! I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar to give it a bit more depth of flavor. I heated the mixture to 300 degrees. Be sure to remove from heat before mixing in the baking soda. Also, BE SURE NOT TO SPREAD MIXTURE OUT...this will make the mixture hard and more like a brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Mansur Lellman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fall Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I just finished making this candy. It's just how I remembered it. Perfection. I followed the recipe exactly and other reviewers were right. You must be patient. It takes a while to reach temp. I dipped the candy half way in the chocolate. I will definetely be making more for the holidays. Mag
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yo.mags

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
So glad I found this recipe. I call it sponge candy and is very similiar to a cadbury product sold in Europe called Crunchies. I did not have dark corn syrup but regular corn syrup worked just fine. A digital thermometer made it easy to know when to remove the heat. Don't be alarmed by the vinegar smell is will cook off. Do make sure that when you add the baking soda you quickly but completely mix it into the sugar. It will foam high so be sure to start with a large enough sauce pan to begin with. If the baking soda doesnt completely mix it it will become trapped in the little air pockets of the sponge candy. This is what would leave a strong baking soda taste. Lastly, like other members have mentioned be sure to COMPLETELY COOL the sponge candy before breaking and coating in chocolate. Only issue i have is how to break evenly without to much candy flaking away. All in all a great recipe and will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greenjellybean
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This Angel Food Candy is SO GOOD! I love the candy bar version of the candy, and this tastes just like it! Just a couple of things you might want to watch out for: First, it is really easy to burn the candy, so be patient and let it cook on low heat until it reaches about 300 F. If you have a candy thermometer it really helps! Second, sifting the baking soda in help a lot. I got a couple chunks in there. . .Not good. You also want to let it cool off completely before coating in chocolate. I tried one piece when it wasn't completely cooled off and it was really chewy. It's not supposed to be chewy, it has to melt in your mouth and be light and airy. Other than that, it is the best candy I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenjellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This candy tastes just like the fairy food candy my family buys at the store! It was so easy to make as well...just let it cook on its own until it reaches the right temperature! I made it exactly as written, and it was a huge hit at my house. I don't think I used a whole pound of chocolate coating, though...probably more like 3/4 lb. If you are going to make this, be sure to stir your baking soda in completely, even if it starts to foam up! The first time I tried this, the extreme foaming scared me a little, and I didn't stir the soda in enough. My family doesn't care for little pockets of baking soda in their fairy food candy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Wow! This is my wife's favorite candy and when we were on vacation I paid $20 a pound for it! When we got home, I looked up the recipe and found this one, unbelievable how much this tasted like the expensive kind! We first dipped it in dark choclate and then after it dried, dipped it in milk choclate. We will never be buying this again! So easy to make and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerrod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Perfect! I love this stuff, it's one of my favorite Christmas-type candies and now I can make it myself! I could not break it by hand, the pieces ended up being REALLY irregular (and really messy)so instead I used a steak knife to stab it, breaking of normal size pieces. I chose to use semi-sweet chips (melted with shortening) instead of the confectioners coating. I dipped half, planned on dipping the other half but the first half took too long to dry, warm kitchen I guess. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I made this with my younger cousin who's just learning how to cook and it was supper easy. The hardest part is to not burn it. :) Everyone loved it and said it was better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Just like the the candy from corner store. I would NOT use a glass pan again. It did stick something awful. After I managed to get it out of the pan it tasted just like I remembered! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States