Angel Food Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by greenjellybean
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This Angel Food Candy is SO GOOD! I love the candy bar version of the candy, and this tastes just like it! Just a couple of things you might want to watch out for: First, it is really easy to burn the candy, so be patient and let it cook on low heat until it reaches about 300 F. If you have a candy thermometer it really helps! Second, sifting the baking soda in help a lot. I got a couple chunks in there. . .Not good. You also want to let it cool off completely before coating in chocolate. I tried one piece when it wasn't completely cooled off and it was really chewy. It's not supposed to be chewy, it has to melt in your mouth and be light and airy. Other than that, it is the best candy I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenjellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This candy tastes just like the fairy food candy my family buys at the store! It was so easy to make as well...just let it cook on its own until it reaches the right temperature! I made it exactly as written, and it was a huge hit at my house. I don't think I used a whole pound of chocolate coating, though...probably more like 3/4 lb. If you are going to make this, be sure to stir your baking soda in completely, even if it starts to foam up! The first time I tried this, the extreme foaming scared me a little, and I didn't stir the soda in enough. My family doesn't care for little pockets of baking soda in their fairy food candy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Wow! This is my wife's favorite candy and when we were on vacation I paid $20 a pound for it! When we got home, I looked up the recipe and found this one, unbelievable how much this tasted like the expensive kind! We first dipped it in dark choclate and then after it dried, dipped it in milk choclate. We will never be buying this again! So easy to make and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerrod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Perfect! I love this stuff, it's one of my favorite Christmas-type candies and now I can make it myself! I could not break it by hand, the pieces ended up being REALLY irregular (and really messy)so instead I used a steak knife to stab it, breaking of normal size pieces. I chose to use semi-sweet chips (melted with shortening) instead of the confectioners coating. I dipped half, planned on dipping the other half but the first half took too long to dry, warm kitchen I guess. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I made this with my younger cousin who's just learning how to cook and it was supper easy. The hardest part is to not burn it. :) Everyone loved it and said it was better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Just like the the candy from corner store. I would NOT use a glass pan again. It did stick something awful. After I managed to get it out of the pan it tasted just like I remembered! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very good recipe! I had a "blonde moment" when I first tried the recipe and accidentally used baking powder instead of baking soda...that definitely didn't turn out! But when I made it according to directions the second time, it turned out perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mands

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Carroll, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
No one in my family liked these. Maybe I did something wrong??!!?? Followed the directions to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAMBILALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Troy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I'm giving this 4 stars because I'm sure it would be good if only I hadn't messed up. The sentiment that "sometimes the purpose of our life is only to serve as a warning to others" applies here. I'll warn ya. If you don't have dark corn syrup you CANNOT, repeat CANNOT substitute molasses. My first attempt ended up with a nice light crisy blop of carbon and my house smelling like burnt sugar for a couple days. On the second attempt I followed the advice of a poster that suggested some additional time in the oven, which ended up with a tinge of burnt taste... enough to ruin the batch. Bummer that, since the texture was wonderful and I could get a hint of the delicious candy that it should have been. Oh well, I guess it's not my year for angel food. Just wanted to lend a word to the wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
The only issue I had with this recipe wasn't really with the recipe. You should note, REMOVE IMMEDIATELY from heat when the desired temp is reached...otherwise, it tastes a little burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States