Angel Food Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I was told about this candy from my husband's family that lives in Wisconsin. I had never heard of it before. I really like it and it seems to be a hit with family and friends. I did not completely cover in chocolate, just dipped a little bit. I don't know how to get it to break or cut nicely without crumbling though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Try these alterations if you like it more dense and not so airy. -ONLY use 1/2 TBSP baking soda (thats 1 1/2 tsp) -Use a large 13x18" sheet pan -lined pan with foil and butter as instructed -Pour into sheet pan. It will not fill the pan but creates more room for it to spread. And it will be more dense. Not falling apart when you try to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I tried this for Christmas Eve since I had never heard of it before and looked yummy. I didn't read the reviews before so it didn't turn out as well as it could have. The candy was hard and I thought it was going to break a few teeth in the process. I do want to try this again but with recommended changes and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sah90504

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Totally worth the time!!! I grew up with my parents buying this candy around xmas time and HAD to make it. The first and third time I made it... it didn't turn out. It was flat and hard. The second time was SO GOOD. I followed the advice of Lisa K that time and used light corn syrup w/half brown sugar. 1st and 3rd with dark... don't know if I did something wrong. Dipped in semi-sweet chocolate and milk chocolate. I'll be making this every year for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I let each of my kids pick something to make today, and this is what my 12 year-old picked (I think she liked the name). She made most of it herself, I helped a little with the stiring. It was neat watching the transformation when we added the baking soda, almost like doing a science experiment. After cooling, we broke it into pieces and sampled. At first, we thought it was just weird. But we let it sit, dipped the pieces in chocolate and let them sit overnight. It's almost gone today. Defintely dip in chocolate. It softens it a little and adds the perfect touch. We really enjoyed this and it will probably become a holiday tradition for my daughter and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My great grandmother used to make something very similar over the holidays (I guess) per my dad. He wanted them but couldn't find a recipe so I made these. He said these were very close and loved them - as did everyone else. We all actually liked them w/o chocolate as well. Either way - 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotdiggitydogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This recipe seems a little different,but it does make a really yummy candy. I have made several batches of this already and will be adding it to my Christmas baskets this year as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
OMG made this first time and it turned out perfect. Used brwon sugar since I only had light corn syrup. My kids love it and I can't wait to give it as gifts. So easy gas stove and used 4-5. Makes me remember my sibs and cousins eating this and it was spendy then. One to add to your xmas candy file. Did use my candy themoter I would suggest buying one they are not that much and you have it for years. Enjoy Yum Yum give me some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Martin Kronschnabel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Not bad! Never had this candy before so I couldn't pass up trying the recipe after most people commented on growing up with it...where was I? Had no problems at all. Mine started to turn a little darker at 275 degrees. Had I not been right there, it would of burned. Not bad at all, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I've made this twice. The first time it came out a little burned. Tasted like roasted marshmallow, which is not bad. The second time I made it I only cooked it to 285 degrees and it was perfect. LOVE IT!! I did do the syrup in the cold water test. Excellent. Made me think of my childhood when I would ride my bike down to Jo's candy cottage in downtown manhattan beach with 10 cents and buy a huge piece...Ahh the memories. Thank you so much for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States