Angel Food Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I let each of my kids pick something to make today, and this is what my 12 year-old picked (I think she liked the name). She made most of it herself, I helped a little with the stiring. It was neat watching the transformation when we added the baking soda, almost like doing a science experiment. After cooling, we broke it into pieces and sampled. At first, we thought it was just weird. But we let it sit, dipped the pieces in chocolate and let them sit overnight. It's almost gone today. Defintely dip in chocolate. It softens it a little and adds the perfect touch. We really enjoyed this and it will probably become a holiday tradition for my daughter and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My great grandmother used to make something very similar over the holidays (I guess) per my dad. He wanted them but couldn't find a recipe so I made these. He said these were very close and loved them - as did everyone else. We all actually liked them w/o chocolate as well. Either way - 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotdiggitydogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This recipe seems a little different,but it does make a really yummy candy. I have made several batches of this already and will be adding it to my Christmas baskets this year as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
OMG made this first time and it turned out perfect. Used brwon sugar since I only had light corn syrup. My kids love it and I can't wait to give it as gifts. So easy gas stove and used 4-5. Makes me remember my sibs and cousins eating this and it was spendy then. One to add to your xmas candy file. Did use my candy themoter I would suggest buying one they are not that much and you have it for years. Enjoy Yum Yum give me some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Martin Kronschnabel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Not bad! Never had this candy before so I couldn't pass up trying the recipe after most people commented on growing up with it...where was I? Had no problems at all. Mine started to turn a little darker at 275 degrees. Had I not been right there, it would of burned. Not bad at all, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I've made this twice. The first time it came out a little burned. Tasted like roasted marshmallow, which is not bad. The second time I made it I only cooked it to 285 degrees and it was perfect. LOVE IT!! I did do the syrup in the cold water test. Excellent. Made me think of my childhood when I would ride my bike down to Jo's candy cottage in downtown manhattan beach with 10 cents and buy a huge piece...Ahh the memories. Thank you so much for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This was just deLisH!! It was easy to make and the results were amazing. Where I come from we call this HoneyComb, but I do like the other name 'Angel Food Candy' & 'Fairy Food Candy'. Thanks for a terrific and very well received recipe Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Followed recipe, but it didn't turn out right. It was too chewy and it was very messy. tried it again, this time I left it on the burner longer, but still did not com out the way I was hoping. I will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this because my mom used to make it. There are 8 kids and we used to fight over it. I doubled the recipe. When it reached hard boil I thought - perfect! I put it in 2 glass pans... beautiful. Then it came time to break it in pieces - what was I thinking? This is a mess. Oh well, now to dipping it in chocolate - I swore NEVER AGAIN! PAIN in the butt, messy and it took 2 hours to coat all the pieces in their iceberg like sizes and shapes. --- so I dipped it in mostly milk chocolate with a little semi sweet. ---- it hardened in the cold, first taste and WHAM! This is the best candy in the world. DIVINE. ---- I'll make it every year from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleenar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made this and it turned out awesome. The family said it's as good if not better then the stuff you buy in the store. There is a little trick to making this come out of the pan without any problem... I lined the bottom of my pan with Parchment paper. It also makes clean up a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States