Angel Food Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Just like in the stores, but better. Because we made it. I tried this twice. The second time I made sure the temp. was 300 or higher. And I it came out perfect. Fluffy and all. But, next year I will make sure I have more chocolate to dip the whole piece of candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was so easy and worked out great. The candy breaks into irregular pieces but we didn't care. How have I never made this candy before?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LisaT
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I had read a lot of the reviews, and I was a little skeptical. I used dark Karo syrup and regular sugar...I let my candy themometer reach to 300...I read on another site to put the vinegar and bakng soda in last.....I stirred the vinegar in first, then quickly added the baking soda, poured in a greased pan, lined with tin foil..I then put in a 200 degree oven for ten minutes, and then lowered it to 175 for another ten minutes like Lisa K said.. it cooled quickly, I took a bite, and it was pretty hard. I almost threw in the towel, but waited a little longer, it came out of my pan whole and I just broke the pieces with my hand. The middle was a little more like it should have been. Put the pieces into melted chocolate with a little coconut oil on waxed paper. Yum! Next time I am going to try with brown sugar and perhaps a better chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I worked in a chocolate factory for years - just a tip - fully cover your sponge candy with chocolate for best storage. Even a small hole in the chocolate will make your sponge get stale very quickly. I spent hours weeding out the uncovered sponge to put into the imperfect for sale pile. store in a cool place but never the refrigerator or freezer, should store well for months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Yes - finally SUCCESS!! I've been making this candy using this recipe for 4 or 5 yr now. Best candy ever but frustrating to make. We make for Christmas, but it takes 4 - 5 tries to get 2 - 3 good batches. Well, this year I went back and read all the reviews and made some changes and ended up with 2 perfect batches for 2 tries!! Per Lisa K, we sifted the baking soda, used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar (in place of 1 cup white), used parchment paper to line the pan, put in 225 degree oven for 10 min after we poured into pan, then lowered to 170 for 10 min more (amazed it continues used to puff up), and lastly scored with a knife and then broke by hand into (mostly) perfect pieces (did try the pizza cutter but got very crumbly results. Thought I would put all these tips in one place. I'm so excited I don't have to go through numerous ruined batches to get the couple of good ones I need for the holidays. This truly is a family favorite and want to thank everyone for the great tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Huhman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This may not be the easiest thing to make, but they are so yummy it is worth every minutes of angst trying to get these out of the pan. Reminds me of the store-bought candy that is nearly impossible to find these days. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
When I was a child (many, many years ago), my mother used to buy (and hide) this candy at the Dutch Mill Candy store. When they closed their stores, she found it at a little neighborhood candy store. I made this for old time's sake. I made this recipe using about half light brown sugar and half granulated sugar. The end result doesn't appear to be as thick as the pictures for this recipe but the taste is right on target. I poured the cooked syrup into a pan lined with buttered non-stick foil (some people call me Mr. Monk).Thank you so much for posting this recipe it brought back memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made this recipe and it came out looking like its supposed to but it had a bitter vinegar taste. I wonder if I can omit the vinegar so it tastes like what its supposed to?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
My grandmother used to make this for her Christmas boxes I never realized how simple it really is. Followed directions to a t had everything prepared buttered pan lined with parchment, sifted baking soda. Also dipped in semi-sweet chocolate with a bit of shortening and it was exactly like I remembered. Also used Lisa K.'s tips will be adding it to my Christmas treat lists! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Really interesting! I made it without the chocolate dipping and enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States