Angel Food Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. My brother and I used to fight over the angel food candy every Christmas. It was a favorite of both of ours. After I made this, I couldn't wait for him to try some. Well, as I thought, he couldn't keep his hands off of it. When I told him that I made it, he wouldn't believe me. I actually had to show him the recipe in order to convince him that it wasn't store bought. Here are a few things that you might like to know about this recipe. First of all be sure to use all of the baking powder, stir it in quickly and then pour it into the buttered pan. Make sure you just pour it into your pan, do not spread it around. This recipe is great, but if you want the candy even lighter, be sure to butter the pan all the way up the sides and then put the candy into the oven at 200 to 250 degrees right after you pour it into the pan for ten minutes and then decrease the temperature to 170 degrees for another ten minutes. The candy will puff up and fill the entire pan. It is a good idea to use a metal pan or one of those flexible pans. This makes it easier to get the candy out when it cools. Thanks Debbie, for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This is great! I have tried a lot of different reipes, and this one is a good one. For the person who said it smells like campfire marshmallows burning; you are probably cooking it on too high heat. I used to burn mine all the time, because I was in a hurry to get it up to the required temperature on the candy thermometer. I have learned to cook it slower, and it turns out every time. I also use light corn syrup, and it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geri_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clintonville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Wonderful recipe, brought me back to my favorite childhood treat. BUT much better with real dipping chocolate than the coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
This is a really easy recipe. For one who had never made candy or used a candy thermometer until this recipe, I found it very easy. I would also like to stress not to spread the candy once you have placed it in the pan. Makes more than it seems like it is going to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
The only issue I had with this recipe wasn't really with the recipe. You should note, REMOVE IMMEDIATELY from heat when the desired temp is reached...otherwise, it tastes a little burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Very quick and easy to make. Tastes just like the old fashioned Angel Food Candy my husband grew up eating at Christmas time, he said. I used real chocolate (3 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips) and 1/4 cup of vegetable shortening to make my own chocolate coating (heated it in microwave). Then set the candy in the refrigerator to set up faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Perfect! It is also called fairy food, seafoam, sponge candy, honeycomb, hot air candy, etc. After 8-10 failed batches, I finally found the way to success: If you don’t have a high quality DIGITAL candy thermometer, don’t even try this. The brand I use is CDN. Previously I had tried a cheap analog thermometer and/or testing in cold water, but the candy cooks so quickly that by the time the thermometer registered the right temp (or a sample formed a brittle thread), the candy had already cooked to a much higher temp. It burned EVERY time I tried these methods. Before starting to cook the candy, prepare: Line your pan with non-stick foil. Measure and sift baking soda. Make sure your pan is large enough, as the mixture will foam a great deal after you add the baking soda. Use a heat-proof silicone spatula for stirring the candy mixture. Cook only at medium heat or lower; higher will cause the candy to cook too fast and it will burn. Be ready; the SECOND the candy thermometer registers 295° (300° risks burning), slide your pan off the burner and add the baking soda. Stir quickly, but be sure to incorporate every bit of the soda. (It’s nasty to get even a teeny bite of pure soda!) Pour into the nonstick foil-lined pan as evenly as you can, but resist the urge to spread it. It will fill in the empty spots as it cools and settles. Score cooled candy w/ a serrated knife, then place into a Ziploc bag and break. Pieces will be irregular in shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The (Almost) Amazing Mammarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
I don't know how it was supposed to turn out, exactly, but it wasn't what I had envisioned. It was too big for my dish and ended up touching the sides, which made it extremely hard to remove from it. I didn't even bother adding the chocolate coating. Perhaps some of these things are my fault (I've never been an excellent candymaker) but I didn't like the recipe anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I am having so much difficulty making this recipe. It plops out of the pot all nice and foamy and thick, but then once it is in the buttered pan, it flattens down to about half an in within about a minute or two. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I've tried half a dozen times, all withthe same results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I remember eating this candy during the holidays when I was a child (30+ years ago!). I haven't seen it to buy for a long time, so had to try out the recipe. It was just as I remembered. It was easy to make, although mine easily filled the pan. I also prefer using semi-sweet chocolate to coat instead of the other coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States