Angel Food Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Followed the exact directions and this turned out perfectly. Just remember, when you pour it into the pan, don't stir it or mess with it - it will make it less airy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Fantastic recipe! I have been wanting a recipe for Angel Food Candy for years. Growing up in the midwest this was one of my favorite holiday treats and for the past few years my sister has been shipping it me because you cannot buy it in Florida. Now I can make my own that tastes EXACTLY like the childhood treat I always had. Defintely a simple and wonderful recipe. I used Ghirardelli dark chocolate chips to dip it in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I can taste the soda, I think one (1) T is too much. The candy has a very lovely texture and color but I just cant get past the taste of the soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSEVOBREEZE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
For what's it worth, I thought the recipe was quite easy to do. It was crunchy and tasted good, too! (By the way, I used apple cider vinegar because I didn't have the normal stuff. It smell weird cooking but the final product was fine.) This recipe is my first attempt at candy making so I think this recipe is fairly straight forward. Just be sure to premeasure everything and make sure the pan is greased before you start. A candy thermometer is very helpful to have. With an electric range, keep an eye for any parts that's cooking to fast. (When amber goes reddish, that means the syrup is starting to burn.) I found that once the temperature hits 300, pull the pot off the heat because the temp will still go up a bit before it starts to cool. Overall, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
The absolute BEST BEST candy!!! JUST like I remember from when I was a kid! I made a batch for a friend for a Christmas gift, & she had never heard of it OR tried it before, & devoured the entire batch in TWO days!!! She is RAVING about it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ozark Acres, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Very good recipe. When you buy it at a candy store it is called seafoam or honeycomb. it just melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. My brother and I used to fight over the angel food candy every Christmas. It was a favorite of both of ours. After I made this, I couldn't wait for him to try some. Well, as I thought, he couldn't keep his hands off of it. When I told him that I made it, he wouldn't believe me. I actually had to show him the recipe in order to convince him that it wasn't store bought. Here are a few things that you might like to know about this recipe. First of all be sure to use all of the baking powder, stir it in quickly and then pour it into the buttered pan. Make sure you just pour it into your pan, do not spread it around. This recipe is great, but if you want the candy even lighter, be sure to butter the pan all the way up the sides and then put the candy into the oven at 200 to 250 degrees right after you pour it into the pan for ten minutes and then decrease the temperature to 170 degrees for another ten minutes. The candy will puff up and fill the entire pan. It is a good idea to use a metal pan or one of those flexible pans. This makes it easier to get the candy out when it cools. Thanks Debbie, for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Very quick and easy to make. Tastes just like the old fashioned Angel Food Candy my husband grew up eating at Christmas time, he said. I used real chocolate (3 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips) and 1/4 cup of vegetable shortening to make my own chocolate coating (heated it in microwave). Then set the candy in the refrigerator to set up faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This is exactley what we used to call "hot air candy." It's a very traditional Upper Peninsula Christmas candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Linden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I would actually prefer to rate this recipe at 2 stars, but feel that I should give the benefit of the doubt since I have never tried this candy before. I thought the candy would be more light and airy. Instead it was quite hard and difficult to chew. The flavor was bland. Thank you anyway Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States